Premature Inspiration?

Inspiration is the polar opposite of writer’s block. While writer’s block is the evil twin, tying innocent dames to the railway tracks, inspiration is sat in the nearby saloon, twirling his mustache, drinking milk instead of alcohol and yammering on to anyone who’ll listen. Without inspiration, the bar would be empty. All great novels have come from a single moment, the defining spark of an idea that triggered the rest. It’s almost as important as the ink in an author’s pen (or the power pack for their computer, but let’s not get too modern with this train of thought – it’ll go off the rails). Earlier this week my co-writers told you what inspiration means to them, and their personal ways of getting their funky writing groove on. Am I going to go off tangent on a completely different topic for the sake of it? Let’s see.

When writing, I am a slave to the computer. It’s my preferred method of writing simply because of the access to research and ease of use. I used to write a lot on paper, in notebooks and such and it’s a torch I’m trying to reignite but I mostly use my notebook for generation of ideas or quick notes to refer to later. I prefer using said notebook (paper notebook, none of these virtual doppelgangers) in public, just to be away from the normal desk I write at at home. At home I prefer to write in my room, being my sanctuary of ideas (and where I keep all my notes). Privacy is important to me while writing, as despite recent attempts to become more comfortable with sharing my work I am still somewhat protective of my ideas and people seeing unfinished work. Hopefully I’ll be able to do what Jon has done and show you all some of it soon.

A quirk of mine is that I normally write on a less than full stomach, and normally in the mornings. The mind is fresh then and allows for more creative sparks to fly. Like many people, I often have good ideas while showering, having come up with some great ideas for my novel in there. Too much information? Trust me, it’s not.

Inspiration can go as quickly as it arrives, so if you have a good idea be sure to write it down immediately. The human mind is fragile, after all and mine is no exception. One of the most distracting things for some writers is losing a great idea and then going to write, leading to unwanted mental distractions that often lead to procrastination – a subject we’ll likely be covering in coming weeks. If you write, keep that notebook close by, always. You’ll be sorry if you don’t, trust me.

– Craig

1 Comment

Filed under Craig

One response to “Premature Inspiration?

  1. Interesting read there. I wonder if you feel more able to write during the mornings because it’s closer to your dream state where creativity works overtime! I suck at being graphically creative, but I’ve woken up in the middle of the night with fantastic web app ideas that I probably won’t ever get round to building. Recently I’m doing more writing than deving, with my first paid article being published shortly, so will see how things go. I find creative writing easier than graphical creativity, words seem to flow from though where as graphical things just don’t happen as much in my head.

Leave a Reply

