Planning or Pantsing?

Well, hello there, it’s me again!

I’m going to be honest. I’ve been slacking a little bit. Normally, I’ve written a draft of my blog post by now, or at least decided on a topic. Today however, nuh-uh, different story. Today is very much a “butt in chair, fingers on keyboard, and WING IT” kinda day.

That’s how I write really. I sit down and get on with it. Well, when I actually pick up a pen. I’m not much of a planner, which is probably the reason why I can’t write very long pieces very well. I think I just need to sit and actually do a little planning and then I’ll be alright. The problem is, I’m not too sure how to go about it all. There are so many different ways and it confuses me a bit.

Any help and/or advice would be appreciated. Or, you could just tell me how you plan, if you do.

I guess this is why I’m such a seat-of-your-pants writer (Pantsing for short.) I suppose that it’s almost like free writing, in the vaguest sense – just letting the words flow and seeing what you get, instead of planning out every last detail. I suppose I do plan to some extent, I do sometimes have a vague idea of where I want to go with a piece, it’s just getting there. Although, I suppose the fact that I write pieces based on “themes” makes it a tiny bit easier. I’m not sure. That’s just how I write right now and sometimes, the themes make my writing feel a little forced. It’s a bit of a struggle at the moment, but I’m half way through a piece and a notebook and I’d rather finish both so I can “free write” / write without the themes in the next notebook I start. That in itself is actually something I look forward to doing, so it might help with my “writing every day” thing I’m struggling with at the moment. Fingers crossed, eh?

There are, of course, both positives and negatives to both sides (Planning or Pantsing) and everyone is different because everyone writes in different ways. I know people who would vouch for either way. As I said, I’m more of a Pantser, but I think I might have to change that a little bit if I ever want to get anything “proper” written. I know that if I had draft a blog post, it’s generally a bit better than a non drafted one, because I feel that I have more time to figure out what to say, but hey, that’s my fault for slacking a little bit over the weekend.

So, what are you – a Planner or a Pantser? Planners – how do you do it? Pantsers – why does it work for you?

I apologise for the shortness of this week’s entry, but, enjoy the rest of the posts and I’ll see you next week, with a better entry!

Danni x

Word count: 493 words

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni

Leave a Reply

