National Novel Writing Month

Hello readers!

It’s October, which means that it’s nearly time for NaNoWriMo! Normally, I’d be quite excited, but a) I haven’t a clue what to write and b) I seem to have it drilled into my head that I’m going to be hand writing it.

Uh oh.

I know I could always switch from one to the other, but that means that I’ll have a half finished piece in a notebook and that annoys me for some reason. I’m not quite sure why though, because I have loose sheets that have half finished pieces on, scattered about everywhere. Well, they’re all in a folder, each separate piece stapled together so the sheets don’t get muddled, but still. There’s still a lot of half finished pieces lying around.

I have a feeling that I’ll definitely be able to hit the 50,000 words if I type it. Maybe I’d get to the half way point if I handwrite it. Or the quarter way point if I’m very lucky. To be honest, I’d probably be better off typing. I’d have a better chance of “winning” that way.

Although, this doesn’t solve the fact that I still have no idea what to write. Well, I know it’ll be fan fiction (again.) But, I don’t really know which fandom. (Although I am leaning towards one in particular.) I just hope that, if I do go ahead with the bare bones that I have in my head, it won’t turn out the same way as the NaNo I did in August 2009. Fingers crossed about that… Although I will admit that deep down, I know a lot of my writing is all the same; just with different names and settings. I am perfectly willing to admit that, frankly, I suck. However, I still enjoy writing for myself, and that’s all that matters. I don’t care much about being properly published anymore.

I should do some planning really, but as mentioned in previous posts, I’m just not that sure how to go about it, or what to write or whatever. And I’d need to find some old files, as I can’t quite remember the birthdays of some of my characters… Hm. I never was really much good at planning, or keeping detailed notes. I guess that’s why I sucked at revision and exams in school and college and so forth – my class notes were always bloody awful. Oh well. I have a degree now. (Not that it’s getting me anywhere, but that’s a rant for a different blog I think!)

I am really warming to the idea of taking part though. I’m also definitely looking forward to the NaNoWriMo forums being reset. As for what I’m going to write? I don’t know, we’ll see about that. I do hope to take part whether I “win” or not though. We’ll see how much I can get done. Anything is better than nothing.

The first time I took part in NaNoWriMo, I only write 7,000 words but it was 7,000 words more than I’d written at all that year. NaNo gave me back my creative spark back in 2008 so for that I’m grateful. Then, back in 2009 I managed to write 55,000 words in 18 days. Well, I decided to “NaNo” in August that year, because apparently I had nothing better to do with my time. It’s definitely a fun challenge, especially if you do it in November with everyone else; and you use the forums. Everyone on there is supportive and full of good ideas. They’re all a bit mad though; but really, name me one writer who isn’t.

On that note, I’m going to leave it here, so, see you next week!

Danni x

Word count: 625 words

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni

Leave a Reply

