Inspiration – Or, where do ideas come from?

Hello folks!

Well, the title is today’s subject – ideas and where they come from. (Inspiration, clearly, but, what inspires us?) So there’s the question. I know that everyone finds/gets inspiration in/from different things.

So, what do people get inspiration from? Photographs,  books, films, art pieces, TV shows, a single word, a phrase, an object, a person, music, a whispered mishearing, part of an out of context conversation on public transport, a “what if?” situation, wants, needs, thoughts, dreams…

Inspiration can strike at any time and in any place too. I know a few people who get their best ideas in the shower (and thus have brought themselves children’s bath crayons to scribble down ideas for this reason). Some people who get their best ideas first thing in the morning or last thing at night (they keep notebooks and pens or their phones by their bedsides). I used to get a lot of inspiration on public transport, rather, on the bus on my way to college, so I’d type it all into my ancient brick of a phone until I could get home to copy it up. A lot of people resort to their phones or music players to store ideas while on public transport, but, if you can write well enough that you can read it while travelling then, go you – more power to you I say.

“Keep a notebook and pen with you at all times” – is a very well known and classic piece of advice given to aspiring writers/writers/creative folk. And yeah, I know some people who don’t, and they resort to writing on anything and everything to get their ideas down until they can get somewhere to jot things down on paper or on the computer – receipts, napkins, tickets, their arms and/or hands – you name it, creative people/writers WILL write on it if there’s nothing else around.

My point is this: make sure you have something. I know a lot of people have smart phones nowadays, and most of them have a “notes” function or something, so use that if you have nothing else. Borrow something, buy a really cheap, small notepad that you can carry around in your pocket if you must but don’t think “Oh, I’ll remember that idea, I’ll write it down later” because you won’t remember, you’ll forget and you’ll kick yourself for it. Trust me, been there, done that and ended up walking into something instead of kicking myself. Karma, I tell you.

That’s about it today folks, see you next week!
Danni x

Word count: 427 words.
Currently reading: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K Rowling.
Days until NaNoWriMo: 12 days!

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni

Leave a Reply

