The Two (Literary) Men in My Life.

Well, today has been a bit funny. Only 17 customers at work (we usually get 40+) and the start of Nanowrimo. I haven’t started yet (I will start after this post!) but will keep you updated with my word count.

So, the other day I was standing in my bedroom and realised that there are two fictional worlds that dominate it (my bedroom is covered in posters, pictures etc. Maybe I’ll share a photo of it with you in another related post).  I thought that if I were to get into a relationship, whoever I was with would have to accept the presence of two fictional characters in my life.

Harry Potter and Tintin.

Now, I realise these both make me sound a bit childish, but let me explain.

Firstly, we’ll start with that ginger quiffed Belgian. I’ve been a massive Tintin fan for as long as I can remember. I’m not sure what it is about the books or the characters but I adore them (so much so that I went on a Tintin themed holiday with my sister for my birthday – it was awesome.) When I was growing up, the TV series and the BBC radio adaptation (…Herge’s Adventures of Tintin! Dramatised by Simon Eastwood!…) and the books played an integral part in my life. I’ll be honest that the sort of manic joy I get from Tintin has reemerged because of the film coming out. I’m going to see it tomorrow and I hope so much that it’ll  be as awesome as it should be. I’ll let you know.

I think as I’ve got older the thing I love about Tintin is the fact that he could be anybody. His lack of backstory, done on purpose so that the reader can project themselves into him (something that reviewers don’t seem to realise…), is really quite an exciting idea. I also love the fact that he seems to be able to do pretty much anything! He can drive any car, fly any plane and shoot any gun. He’s really the ultimate action hero.

Now, Harry Potter.

It’s a funny thing because I don’t  really like fantasy books. I caught the Potter bug when the first three books came were out and everyone seemed to read them. I think I got the first out of the library to see what all the fuss was about and soon had my own copies of the first three. I remember getting The Goblet of Fire as “well done in your SATS” present. The thing I think I love most about Harry Potter is that fact that I grew up with it. I grew up waiting for the next book, anticipating what would happen or what wouldn’t happen. There was a point in my life where my family was probably sick of the boy wizard and his antics. They probably still are.

Now, I haven’t experienced Harry Potter the way some fans have and that’s fine. Some people have forged friendships through mutual love of the series and there are conferences (usually held in the USA for some reason…) and all those exciting things that I haven’t experienced either due to age or due to financial situations. One thing I do really want to do is go to the Harry Potter theme park in Orlando. I know it’s pretty much an expensive, overblown tourist ploy, but it looks so cool.

Well, I’d better get cracking with Nanowrimo. Word count update next week.

Current word count: 51, 848
Currently reading: Hurricane Gold – Charlie Higson

3 Comments

Filed under Lil

3 responses to “The Two (Literary) Men in My Life.

  1. Wow, you are definitely doing very well on nanowrimo!

    • Lil

      I’m afraid to say that’s not my Nano wordcount, that’s the wordcount of the novel I’ve been writing and rewriting for about 2 years! I’ve only done about 2,700 on Nano!

  2. Pingback: The Noble Art of Comics | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

