NaNoWriMo A-GO-GO

So it’s day two of National Novel Writing Month. If you’re playing along at home, you should have at least 3,334 words by now, or by the end of the day. (That’s 1,667 times two, the 1,667 being the daily word goal IF your end game goal is the 50,000 words. Other end game goals have different daily totals, obviously.)

Throughout the month, as well as keeping track of how many words each blog post is, I’ll be keeping track of my NaNo word count, down at the bottom of each of my posts with the other stats. However, I don’t expect my reading to go that well. We’ll see about that; I might use it as a reward for meeting my word count goals or for when I just need a break from the screen.

Anyway. Some advice for those doing NaNoWriMo:

~ Use this first week to write as much as you can in preparation for the Second Week Slumps.
~ Utilise every single spare second you have, if you can. A little writing, say, five minutes for example, here and there throughout the day is sometimes easier than sitting down to do it all at once. (But of course, if you prefer to sit down and do it all at once, you do that.)
~ On that note, do what works for you. If you write better at the kitchen table at 3am, then use that to your advantage.
~ Make sure you eat well and sleep plenty – as tempting as it can be to pull an all-nighter, don’t do it too often. You want to keep yourself healthy so you don’t get ill and fall back on your word count.
~ The first point I made about writing as much as you can in order to get ahead of yourself doubly applies to all you (mostly) Americans who are going to have Thanksgiving near the middle of the third week of November (the 24th? I believe) Oh, and on that note: ARKHAM CITY PLAYERS – GO AND SEE CALENDAR MAN ON THE 24TH! Ahem. So, that’s my bit for the gaming community done for now.
~ Make sure you remember to eat main meals and drink plenty. I’m saying this because I know when I’m in the middle of things, I forget to drink, and I really don’t drink enough anyway.
~ Keep writing, even if you end up writing a stream of consciousness until the inspiration hits again. Don’t worry, the stream of consciousness can always be taken out later. Just keep on writing.
~ Don’t take it too seriously! Relax and have some fun with it. NaNoWriMo is supposed to be crazy, insane fun – you’re supposed to be enjoying it.

That’s about it really, those are the main bits of advice that I have.

As for me… I’ve already ordered myself something for when/if I win – a notebook from eBay.com, a notebook that the eBay seller got from The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. (Because bribery works with me sometimes.) If I don’t win…  Then I’m just going to get Matt to keep the notebook and taunt me with it until I do win. There’s nowt I hate more than being taunted by him. He’ll only be able to taunt me if I don’t win by the end of November, even though my goal is to win by the 22nd. He only gets to taunt if I overrun into December. Damn. Rewards (and the threat of taunting) are often good motivational things – try it, and see if it works for you.

That’s all I really have for you this week, short but sweet I hope.

Enjoy the next posts, good luck to those of you doing NaNoWriMo and I’ll see you next week!

Danni x

Post word count: 631 words.
Currently reading: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J.K. Rowling (page 336).
NaNoWriMo word count: 2,601 words (but this is because I haven’t written anything for today yet.)

2 Comments

Filed under Danni

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo A-GO-GO

  1. Pingback: It’s Week Two Cadets! | Four Words, Four Worlds

  2. Pingback: Nock Co. and NaNoWriMo. | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

