It’s Week Two Cadets!

So! It’s week two – the second week of NaNoWriMo. You should have about 15,003 words (or more) by now. (See the bottom of this post for my own word count.)

We’re officially in the second week now, it started yesterday, which is when a lot of people start slowing down and “lagging” slightly. Here is a link to my last post full of NaNoWriMo advice.

Here’s some more advice: DO NOT START AGAIN! Week two is when a lot of people think about doing so, because they are overcome with the desire to do so. Don’t do it; just don’t. It won’t help. Find a way to turn your current story around. Write from another character’s point of view. Change from third person to first, or whatever. If you can’t stand to look at what you’ve written, change it to white, or cover it up.

Another piece of advice would be – don’t get it right, just get it written! There will be plenty of time to go back and rewrite and edit at a later date. Don’t worry.

Write little and often. Make sure you write something every day, even if it’s only five hundred words. It will help you feel like you haven’t got tons to catch up on later. In week three people often find that everything clicks into place and the words are so much easier to write, therefore it’s easier to make up the downfalls of week two.

I don’t know if I’m going to fit all seven years of my Harry Potter fan fiction (yes, that’s what I’m writing) into the 50,000 words. I mean, I’m practically half way into the word count and I’ve only just hit the end of the third year. Oh well, we’ll just have to wait and see. I think that I’ll hit the 50,000 around the end of… Sixth year? Maybe? Hey, there’s nothing in the ‘rules’ that says you can’t do more than the 50k! Some people start this month with the goal of 100,000 words. (Not sure I could do that myself! Maybe with fan fiction but not with original fiction.)

I do want to see how far this particular one takes me. Hey, I might even finish it! That’ll be odd for me – I don’t often finish fan fictions, I mean to, but most of the time I “grow out” of the fandom. I don’t even write full stories outside of NaNoWriMo – I just write individual scenes.

Hey. That’s just how I roll nowadays. The most important thing about it is – well, I’m still writing aren’t I? It doesn’t matter if I’m writing stories or scenes, fan fiction or original fiction, as long as I’m still writing, that’s all that matters. Especially considering the fact that I only write for me now. Well, I will sometimes share little bits with a friend or two, but not often. There’s one person I’m sharing my NaNoWriMo with, but that’s because I’m typing for NaNo. During the rest of the year, I handwrite, and it’s a bit harder to show someone who doesn’t live nearby something I’ve handwritten without typing it up. And, frankly, I can’t be bothered with that. I’m too indifferent and/or lazy.

Ah well.

Erm, not too sure what else to say really, so I guess that’s it for this week. Good luck with your novels, and I’ll see you next week!

Post count: 558 words.
NaNoWriMo word count: 21,072 words.
Currently reading: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling (page 336 – of course this hasn’t changed, I’ve been writing!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni

Leave a Reply

