11:11 11/11/11

Today I’m going to take you all away from NaNoWriMo and do something different. We mix it up, we’re writers, it’s what we do.

When I was young, my mother used to take my brother and me to the local library. As well as being one of the influences for my love of everything literary I made a few friends amongst the staff there. Every other week we’d go down there, borrow up to seven books and go and read them. It was a simpler, happy time and one of the places I think happily about when I look back upon those years. Naturally, it’s been torn down and rebuilt into a school for those kicked out of school – the irony is not wasted on me – but since it’s been moved to the local school it’s had computers added and a sports bar and it’s just not the same, but that’s a story for another time.

While a fair amount of time was spent browsing the ‘grown-up’ section (I refuse to use the term “adult” because otherwise Jon will giggle at me) and reading books above my age, I tended to drift over to the children’s section often. However, I wasn’t over there for the children’s books. I was all about the “choose your adventure” books. Hour upon hour would be spent at my grandparents’ house, leafing through them again and again, the art of interactive storytelling both astounding and entertaining me for days. Many children these days might not know what a “choose your adventure” book is, but they’re no stranger to the art of interactive storytelling. The process of writing a novel or story is interactive storytelling to the writer. Computer games are interactive storytelling. In an overly poetic sense, every single thing we say, do or think is interactive storytelling with regards to the story we leave on this planet when we depart.

Why am I telling you this story? It’s the choices in life that we both make and respect. People made choices a long time ago to fight and die for our freedom. Even the people forced to fight against their will made the choice to give everything they had for future generations. People still make the choice today, fighting for the people they love and their countries. Today we remember those that have passed on and honour those still fighting. Don’t just wear a poppy, wear the memories. Most of all, never forget their sacrifice.

Thank you, Grandad. I love you.

1 Comment

Filed under Craig

One response to “11:11 11/11/11

  1. jtotheptothe

    Another good post. And, I wouldn’t of giggled haha 😛

Leave a Reply

