Final Day Folks!

So! It’s the last day of NaNoWriMo! I hope you all manage/d to reach your goal! I managed to hit the 50,000 word mark on November 19th, so I’m quite pleased with myself.

I’m probably not going to post my final word count total until next week, because I’m typing this up, and I’m going to post this before I do my words for today. (That’s how I work, this is quick and easy; I get this done first and then I can use the rest of the day to type my little heart out. Well, when I get back from going out for lunch with the boyfriend – sort of a monthly thing, but this time it’s also a “yay, you wrote a ton of words in a month!” thing.)

So, like I said, I hit 50,000 words on the 19th. Wanna see the prize I brought myself for hitting those 50,000 words? Of course you do; here you go. Beautiful, isn’t it?

I hope that everyone who took part is going to reward themselves, no matter what your word count is. Reward yourself for a job well done, reward yourself for trying. It’s not an easy thing to do.

I’m not really sure what to talk about this week really; I do think that next week will be the last NaNoWriMo related post from me; and it’s probably just going to be a general round up of the whole event. After that, well, who knows?

Back to today… While putting off writing during last week, I stumbled across this article/blog on writing 10,000 words a day, and I thought I’d share it with you all.

I’m not trying to get you all to be super writers, although it would certainly help your writing endeavours, but I am trying to pass on advice.

Particularly the bit in that blog entry about knowledge. She’s right – it does help to know what you’re writing. You don’t have to have a minute by minute plan unless of course that actually works for you, in which case, go for it. But, some planning does work fantastically. I mean, I’m normally someone who never plans anything she writes. Those pieces don’t often get very far. Except, my NaNoWriMo this year. I planned for it. Not a lot, but I did some planning. And it helped. The small amount of planning helped me get to the current word count that’s at the bottom of this entry. Sure, most of the words were made up on the spot, but there’s a lot less waffle there than there would be if I hadn’t’ve planned anything. (Yes, there’s still a lot of waffling there, but there is less there than usual, I think.) The planning gave me points to get to after doing a little bit of waffling.

If you don’t normally plan; try giving it a go. If you normally plan and it works for you, great! Keep going. If you plan, and you plan a lot, and it doesn’t work for you, try planning a little less. If you usually plan a little and it doesn’t work, try planning a little more. Or, don’t plan at all if you find that none of the above works.

Now; for you NaNoers… Take a break from your novels when you finish the first draft. If you’ve finished by now, excellent – don’t touch your manuscript until until the New Year. If you still need some of December to finish, that’s okay; just don’t touch your novel again until February.

Either way, don’t touch your manuscript for about a month. Yes, print it if you want to, but don’t start editing right away. It will be much better for both your novel and for you, if you leave it for a little bit – then you’ll be able to look at the manuscript with fresh (or, fresher) eyes after a break. It really is the better option; it’s the piece of advice I’ve read in almost every book on writing I know. Take a break from it all. Take a rest. Go and have a party if you like. Sleep for two weeks if that’s really what you want to do.

To be honest, that’s all the advice I really have for you today.

Well done NaNoWriMo participants – no matter how much you wrote, you’re still a winner because you tried; because you took on this massive task and you gave it your best shot. Congratulations guys and girls!

Until next week,

Danni x

Words in blog post: 748 words.
NaNoWriMo word count: 76,838 words. (This probably won’t go up that much, but I’ll do a final round up next week anyway.)
Currently reading: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling (page 336 – of course this hasn’t changed, I’ve been writing!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni

Leave a Reply

