A Writer’s Audience: Critics, Fans, and those Between.

This is my last blog people. I am sorry for any inconvenience to my fellow bloggers and readers.

Writers always have an audience. No matter how small or big they are. But what is more important is how hardcore a fan base is.

I have realised, and I’m betting a lot of you people have too, that critics and fans have completely different opinions. At least most of the time.

I’m not sure if it is me but I actually find critics biased a lot of the time. They don’t want to open their minds any more. They don’t want to think, anymore. They want to be spoon fed every bit of information. I find this very sad.

The big names almost always get good reviews. Whilst some of my favourite films and books are left with reviews from critics with a cold heart, lack of imagination and stubborn attitude. And because of this they fail to see the point in the piece of art. I pity them. And pity is not a word I use lightly.

It was the writer, director and creator of some of the most beloved fictional characters in all forms of media; Joss Whedon; who said about his film “Serenity”: “I’d rather make a show 100 people need to see, than a show that 1000 people want to see.”

Joss Whedon is one of the few people who is aware of his rewarding fanbase. A one that doesn’t have overwhelming numbers like say, Harry Potter. But his fans are just as loyal, if not more. And this brings me to one of the more important questions as an artist. Would we want to have many fans who “like” our work? Or would we want a smaller number who can’t live without our work? I know which one I would choose. Sometimes it is not always as straight forward as this. However, most of the time it is.

I am going to finish this post with a quote from Einstein. One that most will already know.

“Imagination is more important than knowledge.”

I wish you all an outstanding Christmas.

Mwah. Jon x

Word count: 42,346

Currently reading: Nah, it doesn’t matter about that any more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Jon

Leave a Reply

