Write away!

This is the second attempt at this blog. Let’s see how it goes.

Book week hasn’t happened yet, but there’s a good reason. I’ve actually made progress with my new book!

In my last blog post my word count was 4,826 and now it’s 11,362. Now, don’t been fooled, I haven’t made any significant leaps and bounds in means of plot or character development but it’s moving forwards slowly. The first section is set in Cambridge and intended for it to be the shortest part, just to start setting the scene. Twenty pages later, we’re still in Cambridge. Just.

It’s quite strange writing this knowing that I’ve written a whole other novel length thing with these characters in. I have to consider what they were like in that and try to keep them consistent and not let them break too far out of the mould I set for them in the first one. Obviously the end of the last book had a significant impact on them and they are ultimately changed by it but I don’t want to drag them too far out of character.

One thing I’ve been doing for research is searching for popular songs for the time it’s set (1925) which is proving very interesting. Thanks to YouTube I’ve been able to scout out some particularly good songs. One example is Bye, Bye, Blackbird by Gene Austin. The version I had heard previously was in The History Boys and is a lot slower than the original so I was surprised to hear it a bit more jazzy than I thought it would be. I am also going to be writing about a  song called “Remember” by Cliff Edwards and another called “Everything is Hotsy-Totsy Now.” Links will be provided at the bottom if you are at all interested. I know I have  only scratched the surface of the music but it’s a slow process.

I’ve been trying to come up with the BIG moment and am still hitting a bit of a wall. I think the first big moment planned isn’t quite important enough to knock the entire plot sideways. It’s enough to change how a couple of characters feel about each other but not enough to really test them. A new character, Henry, has been put into the notes so we’ll see how he pans out in the main plot line.

As I may have said before, I’m not really a big planner. I’ll get to about 20,000 and then realise that I need to actually think about what’s going to happen when. I’m sure that will happen soon.

So, until next time,

Lil

Bye, Bye Blackbird: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eO6PpD-tRLU
Remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7XS9UdHTOk
Everything is Hotsy-Totsy Now: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4GC1afq-vY

Current word count: 11,362
Currently reading: Young Sherlock Holmes: Death Cloud – Andrew Lane, We Danced All Night – Martin Pugh.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

