Idea: Writing diary/log.

Hiya folks!

Okay, I know that I said that there’d be a review up this week… Well, there isn’t. I’m sorry about that. I’ve been a little bit disorganised again and then I got bitten by some motivation and inspiration – I’ve worked quite hard on my Page A Day Project recently. I’m still so far behind, of course, but it’s a start. I mean, take Monday for example – three of those pages came out of my Biro before I gave up for the evening. I’ve done at least five since my last blog post and I’m quite pleased with that.

Anyway, I’ve set myself up a writing diary. Let me explain…

I have a pocket sized organiser that I purchased from WHSmith (it’s pink with owls on and I rather like the thing). I don’t really have any use for it – for noting down appointments and deadlines and such, now I’m not in uni but I still wanted to get some use out of the thing. So, I got a new diary refill for it (a week to view/week to two pages thing) and first, I wrote down everyone’s birthdays. I always do that. I need a written reminder and not just an electronic one. Birthdays are written in red and anniversaries are written in pink for my references. This allows me to use my Zebra expanding Biro (damn awesome little thing – mine’s pink to go with my organiser) to note down what I write each day.

In the front of the organiser, just before the diary pages start, I’ve put a guide/key that I wrote on a piece of notepaper in the front of the organiser. It looks a little like this:

Behold, my handwriting!

😀

I don’t know if you can read my scrawl, but it basically says what size paper I use for everything that I handwrite. (because that allows me to estimate exactly how much I’ve written. I’m a bit odd like that.) Most of the time, then pens I use have too much bleed through, or leave too much shadow on the other side of the page, which means I can’t use both sides of a sheet of paper, unless I use pencil or a Biro, so I stick to only using one side. Because of this, I’ve noted down on this guide that one page equals one side, and visa versa.

It just allows me to keep a note of what I write, or rather, how much I write. I do the same sort of thing for NaNoWriMo, (but with words instead of pages) using a quickly knocked up spreadsheet. I like to keep notes about things like that but I’ve always been incredibly weird with paperwork… Anyway, moving on. Obviously the writing diary doesn’t have much space for me to be specific, but that doesn’t really matter to me right now – if I want to write something more specific down, about a certain project or something, then I’ll find the space to do so.

I think it’s a good use of something I wouldn’t use otherwise myself…

I don’t have much more to say right now really. I’ll try and get another review up next week, but no promises!

Until then,

Danni x

Blog word count: 548 words.

1 Comment

Filed under Danni

One response to “Idea: Writing diary/log.

  1. Pingback: Hello again! | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

