Poetry Please.

Firstly, apologies to BBC Radio 4 for stealing the title.

A few days ago I started reading The Aeneid, which is an epic poem originally in Latin by Virgil. It charts the journey of Aeneas in a plot that is quite complex, so if you are at all interested, please look at  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aeneid for more information. I’m not usually a fan of epic poetry (or most poetry, usually) but I thought I would challenge myself to read something a bit different.

I also read The Ballad of Reading Gaol by Oscar Wilde which was written in Wilde’s exile after his release from the aforementioned prison. It’s relatively short compared to The Aeneid. As a fan of Wilde’s, I didn’t feel much for the poem as perhaps I should have. I did find several lines that I enjoyed but overall I wasn’t amazed by it.

A few months ago I bought a Palgrave’s Golden Treasury, thinking that a general anthology would be the way to read more poetry, which is something I want to do. So far I’ve found some completely incomprehensible on the fact that I didn’t understand the subject or the rhythmic structure. I have issues with rhyme/half rhyme – the one that annoys me most is “What immortal hand or eye
Could frame thy fearful symmetry?” because it blatantly doesn’t rhyme unless you pronounce the rhymes wrong. If anyone wants to explain that to me, I’d be eternally grateful!

If anyone has any recommendations or poetry or poets they think I should read, please leave them in comments!

Lil

Current word count: 14, 506
Currently reading: We Dance All Night – Martin Pugh, The Aeneid – Virgil, Palgrave’s Golden Treasury.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

