A is for… Addiction.

Hiya folks,

So yes. My ‘A’ word is “addiction.” This is relevant to the blog, I swear – don’t worry.

Stationery. Notebooks. Pens – specifically fountain pens. These are the things I’m addicted to. There are worse, much worse, addictions, and I have to keep reminding people of this.

I’m not exactly sure what it is about these things. I think maybe it’s because there’s so many different varieties of, essentially, the same products – so many different designs, colours, types of paper and types in general and so on. I don’t know. Maybe it’s because most of the notebooks and / or pens I like are actually fairly cheap and they brighten my day – they provide me with a bit of a “pick me up.” Ordering something as such online gives me something to look forward to – because I currently don’t have much in that department.

Maybe it’s because I write. Maybe not. Maybe I use the “I’m a writer” as an excuse. Maybe it’s none of these things. Maybe it’s all of them. Maybe it’s something completely different. I really, honestly, don’t know.

As I said, there are worse addictions. And at least I know where my money goes. There are some people who end up going out and ‘partying’ and drinking their money away; and then they wake up and wonder where all their money went. At least I can see where my money’s gone. (Most of it is currently under my desk actually; ha ha.)

My mother is sort of grateful that I’m into stationery and not… Drugs or drinking. She’s very lucky. Actually, while we’re on that topic… My boyfriend’s also very lucky, I mean, I’m pretty much the easiest girlfriend to buy for. Ever. We celebrated our two year anniversary on Monday and do you know what he got me? A Ruby Red, Limited Edition, Lamy Al Star fountain pen. Cheaper than, say, shoes or diamonds and it’s going to last longer than a pair of shoes would. Plus, it’s perfect for someone like me. I love that he doesn’t mind fuelling my stationery addiction every so often. I’m very lucky.

I don’t really think that it’s much of a problem. Yes, I have a ton of pens, and yes I have a ton of notebooks, but it’s not like they take up much space and I am using them. The notebooks just take a little while to get through when inspiration isn’t very plentiful. I do what I can though. Pens, on the other hand, are easier to get through. I’m always scribbling notes, doing sums, writing letters or whatever, so I think that’s even less of an issue. Besides, I buy a fair few fountain pens now, and some of those haven’t been inked yet because I’m waiting until I’ve narrowed down some of the pens I already have. Plus, fountain pens are refillable. Yay!

Ahem. So yeah. An addiction? Yes, highly likely. A problem? No, I don’t think so. Things are getting used, it’s not like they’re constantly sitting around gathering dust. I’m just slow.

Hello, I’m Danni and I’m addicted to stationery.

See you next week.

Danni

x

Blog post word count: 524 words.

2 Comments

Filed under Danni

2 responses to “A is for… Addiction.

  1. Pen

    I HAVE THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM. Only my notebooks are so pretty I’m afraid to write in them. And I’m a bit afraid to bring my fountain pens around with me and use them because I’m paranoid of losing them. x3

  2. Pingback: Z is for Zzz | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

