A is for Angel

This week’s post is short and sweet in comparison to the prior two of mine.

A is for angel, as it says in the title. If you haven’t figured it out already, my short story (From Above) has one ( or maybe more), which I’ve been posting for the last two weeks; three if you include this week.

My short story was inspired greatly by a television show, which was more accurately a six part mini series called Angels in America; this is actually a Pulitzer prize winning play of the same name by the writer Tony Kushner. The television show won numerous awards, naturally; if you watch it you can see why. When I first watched it I got something I didn’t expect, but I loved it all the same.

From Above was also inspired a lot by the Touched by an Angel series which I love too; my partner keeps telling me how cheesy it is, but I don’t see the problem with that since every single episode has a truthful and uplifting message to give in an entertaining way. It always makes me feel really happy at the end. And off the record, I have cried on almost every episode. That’s most likely because I am too sensitive — but whatever. I’ve even heard that it has helped real people with their day to day lives; and if a show can do that, why should it change its ways because some people think it’s too cheesy?

Here is the next part of the short story:

From Above 

“Tell me, Dwaine,” said Andrew. Do you do Sundays?”

“Sundays? Whatever do you mean?” Andrew gave a mischievous grin at him and crossed his legs; he clutched at the small espresso mug before he took another sip.

“Oh, I get it. You cheeky bastard. Just because I choose to believe in something you think I am a vicar or a minister. Well, I am neither. I do go to church, but only when I need to. I am not a traditional religious person. I don’t follow a particular faith; I just follow God. It’s as simple as that.”

“Well, I didn’t ask for your lecture on God and faith.” Andrew got up, grabbed his coat and stormed off. Another sudden outburst of anger got the better of him.

Dwaine, now left alone at the table. The classical music in the background soothed him a little before speaking.

“Another stubborn one.”

 

* * *

 

“What do you have planned?” asked Raymond.

“We are going to see him,” replied Chloe.

“Now?”

“Yes.”

“But I am nearly home.”

“Your home can wait. It’s not going anywhere; but Andrew is.”

“What do you mean by that?” asked Raymond, curiously.

“Never you mind. Come on.” Chloe stopped and turned; she gestured her head for her friend to follow her walking the way she just came from. He did follow – eventually.

“We’ve been walking for nearly half an hour now. Why do this now?”

“Why put off something till tomorrow when you can do that something today.” Raymond made a noise of frustration before answering.

“You have an answer for everything, don’t you?”

“Answers are good; but finding them is an adventure. And we are now trying to search for that answer doing this; it’s exiting. So be exited, but shut up about it.” Raymond didn’t speak there on; he took the very obvious hint that was thrown at him.

 

Both of them were outside of the From Above hotel about thirty minutes later.

They looked at the sign that formed its name; Chloe stared at it with a warm look; as if she liked this place.

Two big white angel wings made of carved stone stretched from behind the lettering, making it hard not to notice this sign when you walked past.

“How are we going to find him? said Raymond. “Hotels don’t give out their guests room numbers and I’m betting he won’t talk to us on the phone either.”

“He is more than a guest in this place,” said Chloe. “But leave that to me,” she said in a confident tone. They walked in, entering the gold revolving doors.

Currently reading:

The Scourge

Author: David H. Burton

Matilda

Author: Roald Dahl

Take it easy everyone — till next time.

Jon

1 Comment

Filed under Jon

One response to “A is for Angel

  1. Pingback: Z is for Zzz | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

