B is for Brideshead

So, this week, B is for Brideshead.

It’s no surprise to anyone that knows me that I like Brideshead Revisited. I’ve read the book, seen the TV series and the film, listened to the audio play and probably explored it beyond that. But the question remains, why do I think it is so good?

I think the book itself is a masterpiece and I love how the book is told in stages and the developing relationship between Charles and the Flyte children. I think my favourite section is the beginning when Charles and Sebastian are at Oxford and everything seems nice and neat, before everyone starts making mistakes.

I think Brideshead Revisited has affected me as a writer because I think I constantly strive to write something as good. It’s never going to happen as the book is near perfect in my eyes (is it possible to get clouded over a book?), but it’s something I’d really love to emulate.

One thing about Brideshead is that I’m scared to re-read the book in case I don’t love it as much as I did the first time. I first read it in 2009, a year in which I read some good and some not so good books. 2009 was the same year I read Life Class, Regeneration, Strange Meeting and Lord of the Flies for the first time. There was some stiff competition.

Perhaps I will re-read it in the year to come, perhaps not, but I will always love it.

Lil

Currently reading: Death in the Clouds – Agatha Christie.

1 Comment

Filed under Lil

One response to “B is for Brideshead

  1. Pingback: Z is for Zzz | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

