M is for… Mechanial Pencils. (Review.)

Hey folks!

Now; do we all know what a mechanical pencil is? No? Okay, well, basically, it’s a pencil you don’t have to sharpen, because it uses a different type of lead. You click the top like you would a retractable pen, and the lead extends. Most people find them quite useful.

When I was younger, I never really understood mechanical pencils. I certainly couldn’t use them. I pressed too hard, I think. When I was a teenager, I didn’t care either way… Typical teenager really. Nowadays, I can use them but I prefer normal pencils.

Except for one.

The Uniball Kuru Toga.

I have a green (almost lime) 0.5 one – and I actually love it. It’s a self sharpening mechanical pencil; it sharpens itself every time the lead touches the paper. And it works, it really works. You can see the Kura Toga engine moving in the clear section. It’s very cool, very revolutionary.

The eraser on the end, under the tiny, little cap, however, is not that great. It’s not the best eraser I’ve ever used, but I’ve normally got a proper eraser around on my desk somewhere. But for those who don’t plan on keeping it in a pen/cil cup all day, it’s something to bare in mind. The eraser is very… I want to say flimsy, but that’s not right, neither is fragile. It’s quite weak.

I do like the thing though; the clear bit of the barrel where the engine is has little.. Ridges? Waves? Something like that. These form a nice, smooth grip section, and, all the barrel colours you can get; they’re nice vibrant colours. even the black looks good, as does the plastic clip (on the green one, the clip is white and it still looks good.) But that self sharpening technology? That’s really cool.

I suppose it’s a bit pricey, for a pencil. (£5 to £6, more around £7, ish, if it comes with a packet of the special leads, which I won’t go into. Regular leads work too though, don’t worry.) But I think you’re mostly paying for the engine. Seriously – self sharpening? So cool. Sure, you won’t get the satisfying feeling of swapping from the blunt, flat side to the other, sharper side, but your lead stays sharp with is and can be advantageous if you’re a notetaker or writer that prefers pencils, but maybe less so if you’re an artist.

The barrel is quite a good thickness – most mechanical pencils I’ve come across and used in the past; they’ve had thin barrels which weren’t too great to hold (for me).

Oh, well, I just like the thing! If you’re a fan of mechanical pencils, and you can find one, pick one up or order one from CultPens if you can’t find one. They’re well worth a go.

I know, I know; this is pretty much a review, and not an awfully good one at that, but it’s my opinion, and that’s what reviews are – people’s opinions on a product, so there you go… As with all my reviews, I was not paid or asked to do this review, and my own personal, lime green Kuru Toga was bought with my own money.

And that’s it. I like the Kuru Toga and would recommend it.

Oh! And, finally. Today is Jon’s birthday! Happy birthday Jon!

Danni x

Blog post word count: 557 words.

2 Comments

Filed under Danni

2 responses to “M is for… Mechanial Pencils. (Review.)

  1. Pingback: Z is for Zzz | Four Words, Four Worlds

  2. Pingback: My favourite writing equipment. | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

