Q is for Questions

So, if you haven’t  seen my updated post from last week it’s here.

This week  – questions! All of these were taken from a vlog on YouTube, which I will link to at the end.


1. Inside & Out TAG created by Jeremy at MathomBooks
http://youtu.be/_9Oeeqp2174

I: Inside flap/Back of the book summaries: Too much info? Or not enough (Discuss)
Depends really. Sometimes you need enough information to get you to read the book, others no introduction is needed. My copy of The Catcher in the Rye doesn’t have a synopsis, but I think it works better without one.

N: New book: What form do you want it in? Be honest: Audiobook, E-Book, Paperback, or Hardcover?
Paperback. I do like hardbacks, but dust jackets irritate me a little so I prefer books without.

S: Scribble while you read? Do you like to write in your books, taking notes, making comments, or do you keep your books clean clean clean? (Tell us why)
Depends what book it is. I have two copies of Memoirs of  a Fox Hunting Man so I wrote in the used edition. I did the same with The Goblet of Fire as I have it in both hardback and paperback. Sometimes I make notes in research type books so I can refer back to them later.

I: In your best voice, read for us your favorite 1st sentence from a book.
As this came from a vlog orignally, I can’t actually do this question! Just imagine, those of you who know my voice.

D: Does it matter to you whether the author is male of female when you’re deciding on a book? What if you’re unsure of the author’s gender?
No. Doesn’t matter if unsure, if it’s a good book, it’s a good book.

E: Ever read ahead? or have you ever read the last page way before you got there?
I try not to. Sometimes I flick to the end of the page accidentally but that’s all.

 

2. Crazy Book Buying Obsessions TAG created by Jack at ReadingWithJack
http://youtu.be/Hcsb95z678g
1) Do you have an obsession with buying books?
Yes, sorry! I don’t think it’s a wise idea, but never mind, you can’t stop these things!

2) When, where and how often do you buy your books? Do you go with anyone else or just by yourself?
A lot of my books are charity shop buys, otherwise I wouldn’t own so many. I tend to just buy them whenever I see them so I have no real book buying strategy.

3) What kind of things attract you to books when browsing them? Is there a specific genre of books you automatically go and look at?
Titles, subject matter, covers. I usually go to the classics section, then young adult fiction, then history.
4) Do you prefer to buy new, used or a mixture of both?
Mostly used, because it’s cheaper but I do like a new book every now and then.
5) How much are you willing to spend on books each month?
I don’t actually plan to spend any amount per month, so I don’t have a budget as such.
6) Have you ever gone on any ‘book-buying bans’?
I sort of did at uni as my money was needed buying course books and buying food. And I had plenty of books to be going on with anyway.
7) How long does it take you to get around to reading to recently bought books?
Ages. I buy books and then don’t read them for several years sometimes, but it’s not like the books are going anywhere.
8) Do you prefer to buy a lot of shorter, cheaper books or just a few longer, more expensive ones?
Shorter, cheaper. Sometimes long books (by long I mean 700 – 1000 pages) are just too much.
9) Anything else to say about these awesome obsessions?
Yes, you should all buy books!

These questions were taken from this video by thereadables.
Lil

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

