R is for Reading

Are we going to go there?

Yes, yes, we are.

I’m in a bit of a reading slump at the moment, which is terrible. I’m taking so long to read books that it feels like an effort. The last book I finished was Eleven by Mark Watson which I got as an ebook, free on my phone. It felt strange reading a whole book on my phone, but I did manage to read it quite quickly and it was nice to always have something to read without having to carry a book around all the time.

Eleven was a good book, but as with a lot of books I seem to be reading at the moment the ending just let me down. Whether I just expect really dramatic, exciting ending and keep not getting them or I just miss the point of some endings, I’m not sure. The ending of Alan Hollinghurst’s The Stranger’s Child left me a little confused, not because I didn’t understand it, but because I felt there should have been more.

At the moment I’m trying to read Isherwood’s Goodbye to Berlin, the Downton Abbey companion book (yes, sorry…) and a book of quotes. Maybe the problem is trying to read more than one book at once, but sometimes I can’t keep focused on just one (or I can’t take the book I’m reading in the bath with me!)

See you next time,

Lil

1 Comment

Filed under Lil

One response to “R is for Reading

  1. Pen

    I keep buying books even though I haven’t finished the ones I’m reading. And required reading makes it so much harder!

    How is Downton Abbey? I heard it’s amazing! :O

Leave a Reply

