U is for… Understanding.

Hi folks!

I hope I find you well today. I’m not too bad, just feeling impatient. There’s a box of goodies in my wardrobe, mostly stationery, let’s be honest, and I’m not allowed any of it yet. The box is full of things for my birthday and I only know what’s in it because I was given money and I’ve been buying things and putting them aside. It’s not my birthday until next week so… A week until I can have my goodies. I was good at waiting but now… I’m just impatient.

In addition to that, it’s been really, really warm recently which I do not like at all – it makes me quite grumpy and irritable. Which doesn’t go down well with the boyfriend… So… We argue more in the summer. It sucks. It doesn’t help that there’s no breeze and our windows suck and can’t be opened too much. Bleh. I do so hate summer.

Anyway. Today I want to talk about understanding.

The other day, I think it was Saturday actually, I took all my fountain pens downstairs to use the kitchen table to take some photos (I only managed one before my battery died. Duh.) And to show Jane; Matt’s mum, because she’d expressed an interest in seeing all my pens. She seemed to like most of them actually too. From the conversation we had… I think she ‘gets’ it y’know? She even gets that it doesn’t take up much space. I’d almost go as far as saying that… Maybe she approves? I don’t know. Maybe. But I definitely think she gets it. Which is a very… Nice thought actually.

My mother doesn’t mind what I spend my money on – she never has. I don’t think she ‘gets’ it but that’s not really important. My father doesn’t get it, thinks I waste my money and in general, doesn’t really seem to care. Donna and Julie like stationery too (not quite as much as me but hey) so they ‘get’ it. My boyfriend, Matt… I don’t think he totally ‘gets’ it, but he knows that pens and junk make me happy so he doesn’t mind too much. He’ll either give me money to buy pens, for birthdays and stuff too, so that’s hardly a bad thing. I think my closest friends (who are also my co-authors here too) – I think they get it. I think they always have done too. Which, understandably, is something I deeply appreciate.
It’s nice to not feel judged for the things you like.

Until next time,

Danni x

Blog post word count: 427 words.

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni

Leave a Reply

