V is for Voice(s)

Okay, this is going to be about many things, but I will condense it so I don’t bore you all.

First of all, this post wasn’t going to exist until twelve hours ago. I am still low. I’m not depressed. I know what that feels like. And I know the reason why I am now. Only the debate of it is far more complicated than you might think.

You see, writing for myself makes me the happiest person in the world. When I write, it is hard to explain exactly what it does for me. I suppose — no — I know, that it makes me feel somewhat free in a restrained society. I have a voice!

In my Dreamers novella, my character Joe, writes as a form of therapy. You would be surprised how much I have in common with that character. And all three of them, the other two: Scott and Chris. I basically divided myself up in to three characters, revolving their dark secrets and burdens on things that I’ve felt and am feeling right now. I suppose you could say it is a fictionalised biography to some extent. But I am not going to point out what is and isn’t though.

The point in this rambling is that I am caught in limbo between writing to make ME happy and writing to make OTHERS happy e.g. publishing, blah, blah, blah. I have still not agreed on a decision yet. But either way, the writing will not stop.

I really regretted not writing about ‘change’ in the C week. So I am going to apply some of what I know about being an artist from what should of been told to all of you months ago.

Change is the primary factor that keeps stories alive. It happens from our voice. Now I don’t claim to know much about singing or music, but I was once told in secondary school by my music teacher, or words to this effect: That it is VERY easy to hold a note. Anybody can do it. But what (is hard and what) people are looking for is the change: The next note that syncs harmoniously next in line, and the next, and the next. Until you are changing the notes to weave a satisfactory outcome that will please the ears. Can it be — we now have a (novel) ‘song’. Look at that. Wait, hold it. We are talking about writing here, so exchange ‘song’ for the bracketed word.

I was talking to a friend yesterday about writers and formulas. I don’t have one. My writing isn’t formulaic like the James Bond films, and I say films because I haven’t read any of the books. Not really my thing.

In fact it would upset me to find I am using the same formula every time, and just changing some characters, objects and plot points. Like I said above though: Our voice is about harmonious change. But that doesn’t mean you can stick that in to a test tube, and make a formula out of it, does it?

My honest opinion is that I find formulaic writing very lazy, and very boring. But that might be just me.

You’ve been reading from Jon here. And I say goodnight and goodbye. Until next week. Thanks for reading.

Here is the link to part 4 of the Silver Cathedral:

http://writetohavewritten.wordpress.com/2012/08/30/silver-cathedral-continued/

3 Comments

Filed under Jon

3 responses to “V is for Voice(s)

  1. kenounirenashin

    I think you should stick to writing for yourself. Screw everyone else. As long as it makes you happy, who cares? I mean, all my writing’s the same, with different names and different scenarios but it all sounds the same. I don’t care – it’s for me, I’m not ever going to publish it. I can’t anyway. Anyway. Do it because it makes you happy. If later on you decide that publishing might make you happy, do that. 😀

  2. jtotheptothe

    Amen to that Danni 🙂

  3. Pingback: Z is for Zzz | Four Words, Four Worlds

Leave a Reply

