Rule Seven

“Everybody is born creative; everyone is given a box of crayons in kindergarten[/nursery]… Then when you hit puberty they take away and replace the crayons with dry, uninspiring books on algebra, history, etc. Being suddenly hit years later with the ‘creative bug’ is just a  wee voice telling you, ‘I’d like my crayons back, please.'” Hugh MacLeod

Today I am going to be talking briefly about my inner self, and ‘self realisation.’

It is a harsh world. But it is at its harshest when you start to critique the way you move, speak. How you sound, act, look. Or focus on your weight all the time, or how small you are in comparison to most males, or females.

I remember going through a long part of my life when I was young and stayed well out of the way of mirrors.

On some occasions, I stared at my reflection for about three minutes, seeing a shell — but not sure what was inside. And what should be. This was the first sign that I would have to take a more hands on approach to solving my journey of self discovery much later on in life. And I’m still on it now.

There is still so much I don’t understand about being a human being, never mind being myself. It is a very big topic, and will take a very long time, if I ever find the answers I am looking for. I’ve found a couple of answers that have proved helpful; they will be revealed in my ‘Stand Up — Motivation’ piece in years to come.

I mean, even my main fantasy story (Beings That Matter) has cryptic parts and themes about different beings and their places; it goes deeper than that, but I will not ruin it. But I still feel there is something we have not discovered about the inner self of humans. But maybe that’s just me.

Jon

Silver Cathedral

Leave a comment

Filed under Jon

Leave a Reply

