Ooooh.

Hi guys!

Oooh, look at the date; 12/12/12. I however, will not be posting this at 12:12 because I’m not that organised. Anyway. Ooohh, spooky!

I’m kidding, of course.

How’re we all doing today? I hope everyone’s well. Are you all excited for Christmas? More to the point; are we all ready for Christmas?

That is, if you celebrate it; I should really be saying ‘is everyone ready for the holiday/wintery season?’ I do apologise if I’ve offended anyone, ’cause it really wasn’t my intention.

Me? I’m almost ready. I have to wait for one thing to arrive, if it’s going to arrive before Christmas at all, then I have to wrap that. Other than that, I just have one card to write and I’m done. Woo. I think.

I’m not sure that I’m a huge fan of Christmas. It’s just so… Huge. So many to buy for all at once. Birthdays are easier because they’re all more… Spread out. I guess once everything’s purchased it’s not too bad, because then you just have to wrap it and wait.

I like to think that I’m pretty good at the whole ‘gift giving’ thing. I feel like I always get it right. I don’t know. I think so. People always seem happy with what I get them.

Aside from Christmas… Yeah, I guess I’m alright. I suppose I can’t complain – it could always be much, much worse. All my issues are those “first world problems” after all, so who am I to complain?

Next year, I’m thinking about taking part in another writing challenge (or two) I’ve stumbled upon recently. One is 100k in 100 days, which sounds easy enough.

Here’s some information and the “rules” copied from the Facebook page (it’s a closed group so I don’t know if you’ll be able to see it):

This is my more leisurely version of NaNoWriMo, where you have from 1st January 2013 until 10th April 2013 in which to write 100k words. That’s just 1000 words a day. There are some, not very strict rules.

What you CAN count towards your 100k
~ Novels
~ Short stories
~ Poetry
~ Prose
~ Plays (either stage, screen or radio)
~ Creative non-fiction (i.e. self-help books, humour, histories, biographies etc)
~ Articles
~ You can also include notes for any creative piece you write, or exercises from creative writing courses.

And for this year, after complaints last year, I’m letting people include blog posts. But they must be of the creative variety (i.e. writing related or related to some other interest, incl. pets, children, flowers, photography or your life as an ex-pat) and not just what you had for breakfast that morning. Unless you’re Jamie Oliver and what you had for breakfast is very interesting (so recipe blogs are fine to include).

What you CANNOT count towards your 100k
~ Twitter status updates
~ Facebook status updates
~ emails
~ letters to the editor
~ notes to the milkman
~ letters in general
~ memos or reports at work though I will allow contributions to in-house magazines or newsletters.

I imagine some might complain about what they cannot do, but I have to draw a line somewhere. The idea of this challenge is that at the end of 100 days you have a substantial file full of creative writing. If I let people include anything they jot down on a piece of paper, then it’s hardly worth bothering because it’s not encouraging people to be creative. On the other hand, I’m not going to be standing over everyone’s shoulder, so I won’t really know what you’re counting towards your total and if half a dozen words asking the milkman to leave you an extra pint makes you feel creative, who am I to argue?

I don’t have all the fancy gizmos that NaNoWriMo has, and I don’t have any logos or anything, and there’s nothing to actually ‘sign up’ to. It’s just a simple challenge where we cheer each other on.

If there’s enough interest, I’ll set up a Facebook group, and we’ll use the hashtag #100k100days on Twitter. There is also a Yahoo group, which I’ll put the link to nearer to the time.

Note: you are allowed to spread this word count across several projects, if you want to. You are also allowed to add to existing projects. You don’t have to start anything new.

That sounds pretty good to me. I will have to knock up another spreadsheet word count chart thing though. Maybe. We’ll see. It won’t be hard, just… A long chart. Ahaha.

I am actually reading a little bit more. I’m currently reading a book based on the TV show Supernatural, that I’ve gotten into in a big way. It’s awesome. So yeah, I’m reading “John Winchester’s Journal” written by Alex Irvine. It’s quite good actually. Of course, there’s a handful of other books based on the show that I also want to get my hands on. But hey, at least I’m reading!

What else, what else, what else? Ah. I’m still working on my NaNoWriMo story. Just much slower now. And yes, I’m still handwriting. I’m only working on it slowly because I might have burnt myself out a bit over the last two or three days of November, so now I’m trying to restock my “creative fuel” again, whilst still trying to use it a bit. But trying not to use all of it.

Reading that makes my head hurt, but hopefully it makes sense to you guys.

Erm… Ah yes. Another reminder that next week is our last week before we all take a break for Christmas. We’ll be back to regular the blogging schedule the week starting the 7th of January, so Lil will resume on Tuesday the 8th of January 2013.

That’s it for this week really.

Until next week!

Danni x

Blog post word count: 971 words.

2 Comments

Filed under Danni

2 responses to “Ooooh.

  1. I’m so happy that so many people are taking part in this challenge! x

    • kenounirenashin

      I say that I’m thinking about it, but I know I’ll attempt it anyway. At least, I’ll probably take part accidentally! XD

Leave a Reply

