The Other Side of Christmas (Rule Ten)

“Everybody has their own private Mount Everest they were put on this Earth to climb… You may never reach the summit; for that you will be forgiven. But if you don’t make at least one attempt to get above the snow line, years later you will find yourself lying on your deathbed, and all you will fell is emptiness.”

Hugh MacLeod

This week is the last time we will post until after Christmas. And me, after January.

Not everyone is going to get a merry Christmas this year.

Christmas is all about family and giving mostly.

So if a certain someone doesn’t have anybody to spend Christmas day with, or has lost someone that reminds them of that very day, then life can start to look dark. So dark sometimes, that it can end in a fatal tragedy for some.

These are the things that happen and people don’t want talk about around Christmas: Its tradition of gift giving for some proves how loved they are. How many presents? How big? How much? These are the questions we sometimes ask ourselves on the day we get them.

I live in a big family, and see mothers and fathers (as well as others) struggle to show how much they love their children and family from the gift giving tradition. I think we all want to buy in to it in some way.

I remember getting a PS2 ages ago just after Xmas. I bought it with Christmas money from other people. I had saved up for it before then too. This was about eight years ago or something.I used it a bit, but not a lot. Then I think it was two years later, my mother was broke for Christmas. And I knew they liked playing on the PS2, because they played on it more than I did.

Because I could see things were getting to my mam as Christmas came closer, I did the only thing I could do: I said to give my little brother and sister my PS2, stick it in a box, and buy some preowned games they will like.

On Christmas day, they were actually really happy. And I remember my little brother saying: ‘Is it ours, Jon Paul?’ He caught on ever so fast that it was mine before.

Yes, some years are harder than others. People continue to worry about making their sons and/or daughters happy as possible on Christmas day. It can get very depressing, and become a huge amount of pressure for those who don’t live up to what they want to give to friends and family. Especially when your own comes back from school and says all these amazing things his best friend is getting at Xmas.

A lot of life is about fighting. Not causing others pain. But fighting to get what you need, and if you’re lucky, what you want.

I’m wishing and praying all off you out there do get a very merry Christmas. It may not be this year. But hold on. Please do. For it will come!

Keep fighting

Jon x

Silver Cathedral

2 Comments

Filed under Jon

2 responses to “The Other Side of Christmas (Rule Ten)

  1. Yvonne

    Wow. This reflects my Xmas of the past as well. For me it turned me away from gift giving. My mother couldn’t manage the load that the expectations put on her. Now, you have to be under 13 for me to buy a gift. My friends get gifts through the year. If your love Someone enough, you don’t need one day to remind them of this.

Leave a Reply

