Pretty books!

So, this post is going to be about books that I find aesthetically pleasing. There are a lot of them.

Click on the pictures to make them larger! Keep going!Firstly, the book I am reading at the moment.isherwoodI love the simplicity of the design, but could do without the text in the gray box. Bit distracting. Not sure the house is how I picture it in the book, but then, when is it?

Next is this rather fabulous edition of Thunderball, back when books cost 3’6 and not £7.99.

bond1

bond2The best thing about it are those bullet holes. I know it’s been done before but it’s just brilliant.

This is a set called the Penguin English Journeys, which even in the damaged state mine is in, is very nice looking.

pej1pej2pej3pej4Each book has a little quote on them, this one being from Country Lore and Legends.

pej5Each book has the English Journeys tag on and a number.

Up next is a book that was given to me by a friend. I have read most of the stories from this book and have several volumes of the same thing but I will never get rid of this one.

sh1sh2sh3

Next is another book I have also read (half of) in a different copy, but this is another author whose books I could have in multiple.

ss1I love the style of this book, it’s very classic and exactly how I imagine old books.

It also looks great without the dust jacket.

ss2

The Ascent of Everest is a book that I probably won’t read for a long time, but it is stunning. It was very hard to take an accurate picture of the cover because the colour is so vivid. A few of the pictures make it look green even though it’s actually more blue.

DSCF1509everest2The pattern makes the cover.

Detail.everest3The back of the dust jacket shows other new books in a nice bit of book history.

everest4Then we have a more modern cover, the Vintage Classic edition of Apsley Cherry-Garrard’s The Worst Journey In The World. I asked for this specific edition for Christmas because I like it that much.

cg1cg2

Lastly is a book which Danni bought for me a few years ago. I’ve been meaning to take pictures and show it off somehow and this seemed the right chance.

Penguin Bill Amberg Design Brideshead Revisited.

bh1It comes in a lovely cardboard box with the title card around it. I have two of these and keep them on the shelf in the boxes, even though there’s a card inside that says they become better with use.

bh2On the other side there’s  the list of books in the set. See if you can guess which other one I have.

bh3The book is wrapped in this paper which has tiny Penguin logos on (which I tried and failed to take photos of)

bh4And the book looks like this. Excuse me while I wipe the drool away.

bh5There is a tag which doubles as a bookmark. (because if anyone had this book and didn’t use a bookmark I would hunt them down.)

bh6The pages that hold it to the binding looks much like the paper that it comes in.

bh7And the bookmark is threaded through the holes in the top of the pages.

Stunning.

I would love to see other pretty books, show me them!

That’s all for now,

Lil.

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

