In which I talk about why I’m still a writer: some praise and a small rant.

Hi guys!

I finished reading “The Fault in Our Stars” last Wednesday night. I just couldn’t put it down once I picked it up again. I’m not going to talk about the plot or discuss it at all really, I’m just going to say this: it’s the saddest, yet the most beautiful thing I’ve ever read. John Green’s use of the written word is absolutely amazing. If I can ever write just one sentence that’s even half as good as anything he writes then I shall be a happy writer.

Right. So that’s that.

So. Yes. I call myself a writer, because that’s what I do, right? Even if it’s not something I get paid for (that’s an author. An author gets paid to write, a writer writes.)

The thing is, it’s not the only thing that I do. I mean… I do a bunch of other things. I don’t spend all my time, or indeed all my free time, every day writing, thinking about writing, or whatever.

Does that make me any less of a writer?

I don’t personally think so, because writing it still what I do. A lot. Not all the time because I burn out easily apparently.

That’s another thing I keep meaning to mention in other posts, especially my NaNoWriMo ones; it’s important to know your limits people. Nothing is more important than looking after you. No book, no party, no story that you’re writing is more important than looking after yourself. Also, don’t shut yourself away, don’t shut yourself away and push out people you know. Don’t become a hermit. Don’t pass up seeing people just to write. I’ve done that once or twice and once you’ve realised what you’ve done it feel horrible. If you keep doing that there will be no one left to celebrate with you when you get that publishing deal (if that’s what you’re going for.) It’s all about balance.

Erm. I digressed a bit. So… Yes.

Does the fact that I don’t spend all of my time writing, plotting, planning, researching, thinking about writing or whatever, make me less of a writer?

No. Absolutely not. I have other responsibilities, so do many, many other writers and authors. Most writers have families so they can’t spend all their time writing and working on their craft.

Besides; writing, at least for me, is fun. If I have to do something all the time, even if it’s something I like, it stops being fun, and starts becoming more like work. More like a chore. And chores aren’t that fun. And if writing becomes like a chore (and therefore stops being fun) then I’ll lose interest in it, like I did while in university. And that really is the last thing I want, especially due to recent events. But that’s another issue.

Erm. I don’t have anything else to say on that really.

In other news. I have a new stationery blog. Well. It’s a Tumblr really, where I post photos of my stationery collection. That blog is here and gets updated sporadically.

I’m still reading; a little bit, but it’s still more than I did last year, and I’m trying to dive back into writing again. Properly. Especially now that I know what my issue and/or problem so I’m working round and/or through that. It all feels good. And, I’m keeping up with my 750 words every day. I’m on a 33 or 34 day streak so far and I’ve earned my Albatross badge (for a 30 day streak). next up; the Phoenix! Which is the badge you get for a 100 day streak, but that’s nothing compared to the Space Bird badge. That’s for a 500 day streak. (Seriously, if you want to encourage me to do something; give me rewards or a sticker chart of badges or something. It works.)

Hm, yes. I believe that’s everything from me this week. I’m going to go and attempt to kill off some more of my gel pens.

Until next week guys!

Danni x

Blog post word count: 666 words.

2 Comments

Filed under Danni

2 responses to “In which I talk about why I’m still a writer: some praise and a small rant.

  1. Pen

    What was the issue with writing? :O

    • kenounirenashin

      I was trying to force myself into writing things I just wasn’t happy with. It was almost… Hmm… Constricting? Now I’ve realised that I was doing that, it’s a bit easier to work around the problem.

Leave a Reply

