Books! My favourites, through the ages.

Hi guys!

I hope you’re all well! I’m doing pretty good myself.

So as Lil mentioned last week, and again yesterday, from now on, for a little while, all four of us will be writing about the same topic; the same subject if you will. And, we’re all going to take it in turns to choose that topic.

This week, we’re going to talk about favourite books.

So… What are my favourite books? Well, that’s a hard one actually. I used to have quite a few but ever since I fell off of the reading bandwagon (might not be the right word to use here), I can’t really remember any of them. I suppose that they can’t really have been favourites then, huh? But anyway. I have a handful of books that spring to mind, so I’ll talk about those for a little bit, if you’ll indulge me.

So, okay…

The first book that I ever remember being my favourite was something that a boy in my class in year… 4 maybe? I think, recommended to me in the school library; “The Suitcase Kid” by Jacqueline Wilson. I read it and really identified with it so then I read every Jacqueline Wilson book that I could get my little hands on. Then I read as much as I could get my hands on. I read almost everything and anything.

My next favourite book was, is, another Jacqueline Wilson one; “The Illustrated Mum.” I liked that each chapter was named after and about one of the mother’s tattoos. And it was a Jacqueline Wilson book and I loved those. I have a copy of it that I was given as a year 6 Leaver’s gift. My primary school used to do that. I liked it.

After that I don’t remember much until the “Harry Potter” series; and even then I didn’t start reading them until the fourth one; “The Goblet of Fire.” I read that one first actually, then I went back and read the other three. I’m a bit backwards I suppose.

I don’t think I read as much during secondary school. I remember reading a lot until year 9, and I remember reading a lot of the fiction section of the school library, but I don’t remember utterly enjoying anything other than the Harry Potter books during those years.

Moving onto college. I don’t remember (gee, I seem to be saying that a lot) reading much fiction that wasn’t for class. I don’t remember enjoying much, if any, of the reading material either. I read a lot of non fiction in college, mostly books on writing ’cause I got into creative writing in my second year. Hurrah for that! I don’t think I have a favourite non fiction book from those times… But I did read No Plot? No Problem! a lot.

Hmn. Oh. Yes. At one of the “Word Feasts” that my college used to hold (basically a evening dedicated to literature; stuff we liked, stuff we wrote) – someone read out the first couple of pages or so of Markus Zusak’s “The Book Thief.” I loved this book. It made me cry actually, and when I first read this, it had been ages since a book had made me cry. It was also the inspiration behind the piece in my University course’s anthology.

There’s a quote from Markus Zusak on the back of my next favourite book, which was an extra reason for me to get it. That book is John Green’s “The Fault in Our Stars”. This book made me cry too but it’s… John Green’s writing is some of the most beautiful writing I’ve ever read in my life. If I can ever write something even -half- as beautiful as even ONE of Green’s sentences then I shall be a very happy girl.

So yes; those are my favourite books through the ages, to the best of my recollection. And my memory’s not that great so if those stuck around, they must be pretty special.

Until next week folks!

Danni

x

Blog post word count: 672 words.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

