My Timeless Favourites, and Rule Twelve

20130311_204011

 

“Don’t try to stand out from the crowd; avoid crowds alto­gether.” Hugh MacLeod

 

Following the theme of favourite books, I will give my top three; each of which I love for different reasons.

Numbers don’t mean a thing to me, they never have, though modern society is based upon that very thing. So it’s only fair to say all three of these books are equally appreciated; there is no greater love here:

1. Most of my fellow bloggers would have seen this coming, but The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde is a timeless classic for a reason. It opens the literary curtains to the many masks one wears in society, and others we wear at home. It is dark, supernatural, shares a great love for vanity and beauty–and the shadows they can cause on one’s self. I could write a very detailed analysis of this, but I’ll stop here before I get into it.

2. You might be surprised, as number two is one of Roald Dahls classics: Matilda. I rekindled my loved for this book last year, and forgot how simple Dahl’s quirky, yet simple language was used to convey his extraordinary, although hard not to care about character. It has a beautiful balance: Fantasy mixed with a childlike sense of wonder plays well throughout the entire story. And because of that, Matilda will forever live on in both my childhood as my mam read it to me at bedtime when I was about six, and of course–my heart. As childrens stories go, Charlotte’s Web has been ranked number one for so long now, and I still need to read it all the way through, so that might of made an impact on this second favourite if I had read it by now. It is on my ‘to read’ list though.

3. Number three has to be Jules Verne’s 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. It was my first real book that I read from cover to cover in primary school by choice. Jules Verne is a science fiction legend, there’s no doubt about it. He wrote about a submarine before they even existed because: The first submarine designer (Simon Lake) took his inspiration from this fictional book and Jules Verne’s autobiography. That was how vivid Verne’s dream of the Nautilus was! I just love the way he makes his under water science-fiction world feel so real from his grasp of the science language, but also makes it easy for people to understand too. It also touches on some big and timeless themes, like man versus nature, and Capatain Nemo’s liberty from society. This book isn’t in the picture at the top because it was one of the three books Ella, my dog, decided to destroy when I was out. But I will get it on Kindle soon I imagine.

Hope you have a good week

Jon

Leave a comment

Filed under Jon

Leave a Reply

