Writing tools.

This weeks topic is all about writing equipment.

Now, I’m a bit lazy when it comes to this. I do most of my writing on my laptop because then it’s easy to keep together and I also don’t have to type it all up when I’m ready for an edit or two. I write mainly in Microsoft Word because 1) It’s what I have access to, and 2) I know how to use it. I’ve looked into specific writing programmes like Scrivner and others where the extras are things like the ability to link scenes and colour code things, but I usually keep all notes in an exercise book or other notebook.

For my novel I had four exercise books and one larger notebook. This may seem a bit over the top, but it works for me. I tried having some order with this to start with but it didn’t really work out. I just wrote things down and hoped I’ve remembered all the right bits! If I forgot to put something in, it obviously wasn’t that important!

Paper and pen wise I will literally write on anything. At the moment, a lot of my note taking is done on the back of scrap diary pages from work. I mostly write in biro because any other pen smudges if the ink is a little bit wet. I love fountain pens but it takes so much effort for me to write properly with them it’s not worth it. I can’t make a scribbled note in fountain pen.

I have quite a lot of nice notebooks (though not as many as Danni) but I can’t bring myself to write in them. I fear I will start something and it will be terrible and I’ve ruined the notebook (it has happened already with my failed childrens book). Maybe one day I will get over myself and write in one. I have one which has “the next great idea” on the front which I use as my ideas notebook, but I dread opening it to see all those ideas I don’t have time to work on!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

