Throwback Tuesday!

So for this week I thought I would look back on two things I have mentioned before.

First, on the 8th of January I posted a list of books that I wanted to read this year. The list below will show you how little of them I have read. Anything crossed through, I have actually read, anything in italics I have started.

By Royal Command by Charlie Higson
Finish A War of Nerves by Ben Shepherd
At least one book by P. G. Wodehouse
The Worst Journey in the World by Apsley Cherry-Garrard
The Last Expedition by Captain Robert Falcon Scott
Start Christopher Isherwood’s diaries
For The Sake of Example by Anthony Babington
At least one book by Evelyn Waugh
Re-read – if possible – Brideshead Revisited and/or The Absolutist
Finish C. S. Lewis’ Narnia series
Finish The Great War and Modern Memory by Paul Fussell
Finish T.H White’s The Once and Future King (or Sword in the Stone at least)
The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennett
One James Bond book by Ian Fleming
The Memorial by Christopher Isherwood

As you can see, it’s not going that well. I’m battling through the introduction of The Worst Journey in the World and also have a foreword to contend with before the book actually starts, but as its non fiction I feel if I don’t read these two things I may get lost in the text. According to goodreads I am 8 books behind my 50 book goal for this year. This should all change when I have to start studying books again in September, though my plans there are: read all the books once to get the general gist and try to enjoy the story then read them again to analyse them and tear them apart and start hating them…

Second thing I thought I’d bring back was WWW Wednesdays as seen in this post from December. Here goes!

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you just finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading: As mentioned above, The Worst Journey in the World. Very slowly. Also still reading British History for Dummies and plan to start brushing up on my Shakespeare ready for September.

Finished reading: The last book I read was The Longest Journey by E. M. Forster, which unfortunately was not as good as I had hoped. Some parts were so good and the writing was amazing but then there’d be two horribly dull chapters to make me hate the book again. I also read Howard’s End is on the Landing by Susan Hill which I mentioned several weeks ago, which I really loved.

Read next: I have no idea. I want to read everything! I may start some literary diaries as they are quite easy to read in small chunks. (Not that I’ve done it before, I read Evelyn Waugh’s diaries over two days while researching an essay…) or something I don’t have to think too much about. Or perhaps something from the list above.

That’s all for now. Now, off to work on the novel…

Lil

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

