In which I worry about the most pointless things I own.

So, I was hoping that I’d have a thing to briefly mention this week, but I don’t, so that’ll have to be mentioned when it’s mentioned. Something needs to happen before I can talk about it properly. Well, I can talk about it but I’m going to choose not to until this thing happens. And all of that makes it sound like a massive deal, when it’s really not the BIGGEST news ever but it’s exciting for me so… Wait and see. (I bet it’ll happen within about half an hour of me posting this blog. Bah.)

So, on… Tuesday? Yesterday, on Twitter, one of my followers asked me how many pens I have. So I went through the whole “do you mean fountain pens or everything?” Everything apparently. So, out came my six or so pen cups, my six or so pencil cases and a couple of binder pouches stuffed with pens I’d stacked on a World of Warcraft Monopoly box by my desk. (Side note: what’s better than World of Warcraft Monopoly? Free World of Warcraft Monopoly! Ahem.)

I went through every pen storage device thing that I own and I wrote down every pen. Except refills for pens, pencils, mechanical pencils, highlighters and felt tip pens.Or multi-pens actually, ’cause I wasn’t sure whether to count those are one or four (each of my four multi-pens has four ‘cartridges’ in is, thus four pens? I don’t know.) Anyway. I have eight A4 sheets here with every pen written on a new line.

So, I counted all my fountain pens, all my roller-balls, all my biros, all my gel pens and all my… Whatever’s not in the exclusion list. I have about 289 pens kicking around.

Two hundred and eighty nine pens.

Just let that sink in.

Yeah, I can’t believe it either.

Do you know what’s even worse?

Most of them are biros.

OH MY GOD. I don’t understand why either! I hate biros, I really do. I don’t understand why I have so many of the things. I swear to Chuck that they’re multiplying. I don’t know how I’m going to get rid of the things. It’s a well known fact that biros are notoriously difficult to run out. It’s like they just… I don’t know. I hate the things and I have no idea why I have so many.

I mean, I can use up all my gel pens. Easy enough. But then I’ve got all these darn biros to get rid of. How on earth am I going to do that? I can’t just get rid of them – I find it almost impossible to throw away a pen that still works just fine. Time for lots of colouring and scribbling and stuff I suppose? I don’t know. That’ll be my next “mission” after all my gel pens are gone. I’ll keep you updated on that, ’cause I’ll need your prayers guys.

Good lord.

Er, yes! I don’t have much else to say really. I just wanted to lament about that horrifying discovery to people who’d understand.

Until next week!

Danni

X

Blog post word count: 514 words.

2 Comments

Filed under Danni

2 responses to “In which I worry about the most pointless things I own.

  1. Ardis Charbonneau

    I usually donate mine to school teachers. I found they just love anything free that they can use in the classroom… Even ballpoints!

    • kenounirenashin

      I don’t think I have many local schools near by to be honest! Not ones that wouldn’t look at me weirdly anyway. I might be able to donate them to the rest of my household though now I think about it. They’re always losing and/or breaking pens…

Leave a Reply

