If Your Research Isn’t Fun, You’re Doing It All Wrong

I wasn’t going to post today. I am on a break between editing, researching and job hunting at the minute, so this will be brief.

I get a lot of my research from film documentaries, written reports, non-fiction books. And then there is my weapon–Ted.

A lot of people know about it. It’s not so much a secret weapon, but a potent one to those who try to keep up with it. I always watch saved and downloaded videos or talks that interest me when I’m waiting in the car with Ella or when Neal is doing something . And most of the time they wiggle their way into my stories; one talk has even been based on one which I am not sure if I am going to write yet. But it’s still early days.

They house things like the psychology of the creative mind talks, why pets will always be happier than their owners, the advances of technology on society and a lot, lot more. Let the clicks come from what you’re interested in–what you are passionate about. If that’s the kind of person you want to be and become, go with it.

Check it out. I have fell in love with the thing. They have a great app (for Android and Apple) and also a website, so whatever you prefer–it’s there:

Ted: Ideas Worth Spreading

Leave a comment

Filed under Jon

Leave a Reply

