An update, of sorts

So since last week, I’ve done no reading of my new books, but have probably panicked many times every time I walk past the huge box that sits in my room.

Since last week I have also started a new project, which I hope to keep working on. The setting is a desert island so I’ll have to see if I can find something new to do with it. My notes read “More Lord of the Flies than Lost” so we’ll see. The draft may get abandoned like many others after several hundred words so I hope I can keep interested for long enough.

Editing and finalising my novel has come to a complete standstill which is a bit rubbish but I feel more time away from it may help. After being constantly crowded by something for several years, I think it’s good to step away for some time and work on other things. That, and I don’t think I could bear to go through another draft.

Reading is also going quite slowly. I read Jonathan Coe’s A Touch of Love, which satisfyingly didn’t have a twist like some of his newer works. I now actually own all of his books (I think), including the newest one Expo 58 which I won from a Penguin blog and isn’t out until September.

At the moment I’m reading Charlotte Street by Danny Wallace which is a pretty easy read. It reminds me a lot of his non fiction work and is actually something I can imagine him doing. I’m just over half way through at the moment and am enjoying it, so that’s good.

I want to read Mark Watson’s The Knot, mainly because I got his book Eleven as a free ebook on my phone and want to see what another of his books is like. I nearly bought it yesterday but changed my mind but I’m sure I’ll pick it up eventually.

That’s all for now,
Lil

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

