And now time for something a little different – 100th post!

img008

Edit: Now with a photo! And! Now open internationally!

[Click to make the image bigger πŸ™‚ ]

Now! For the fun bit! To celebrate my 100th post aside from traumatising you all with my handwriting, I’m going to have a little bit of a give-away.

What can you win?
One person can win the following:
~ a J.Herbin rollerball pen
~ one cartridge of every single colour ink J.Herbin produces – that’s a good 30 colours! (I should point out that these cartridges are Standard International size, ie; the short ones.)
~ one of my handmade rainbow pocket notebooks
In addition to this, the lovely folks over at Bureau Direct are going to donate one of the brand new Leuchtturm1917 Neon notebooks in orange. (Thank you for this guys!) I’m very jealous, as I don’t even have one of these yet.

P1000562

How to enter:
Leave a comment on this post answering a few questions:
~ What would you use the notebook for if you won?
~ let me know your favourite post of mine! (To see all my posts, click here.)
~ tell me your favourite ink (it doesn’t have to be a J.Herbin one) if you use fountain pen ink, or one you like the look of if you don’t (again, doesn’t have to be a J.Herbin one).

(optional, but it’d be ace if you did)
~ anything you’d like to see me cover one week?
~ a link to your blog if you have one πŸ™‚

That’s it! Nothing too complex! I will use random.org to pick a winner in two weeks (September 25th) and the comments will be numbered in the order I receive them.

Thanks so much guys!

Good luck!

Danni

x

Blog post word count: 710 words.

46 Comments

Filed under Danni

46 responses to “And now time for something a little different – 100th post!

  1. I’d use the notebook to keep track of the books I’m reading , I’ve read and want to read . I liked the Tintin – the black island post a lot. I’ve only used Parker Quink , I would love to try J Herbin ink in Vert Pre for my green Lamy Safari. I don’t know if you’ve done it before but a guide to how you organise your journals would be nice.

  2. Congratulations on your 100th posts! I’m Abby πŸ™‚

    I’m hoping to start journalling, but where I live it’s hard to find a decent journal, so it would be awesome to use it for that. My favourite post of yours to date is https://fourwordsfourworlds.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/talkin-about-my-notebooks-what-i-have-in-use/ (very inspiring!). I don’t have any fountain pens, but would love to try some out! πŸ™‚

    My blog is – http://www.strawbubbi.blogspot.co.uk

  3. I really love Leuchtturms and this orange one is intriguing – I will use it for collecting informations about Roman shipwrecks in Mediterranean sea, because I need really good notebook for my work.
    You have many good blogs but I prefer those which do not have “witty” titles, like “*insert witty title here, preferably with a 80s music montage*” – these blogs are the funniest πŸ™‚
    For a very long time I loved J.Herbin Cacao du Bresil – I still love this one, but I’ve found many other to like. Right now it is Sailor Jentle Grenade and Sky High.

    I would like to see your blog about ink/pen/notebook which disappointed you, but everybody else is loving it πŸ™‚
    My microblog – http://roxtimes.tumblr.com

  4. Anne P.

    Congrats on the 100th! Quite an accomplishment!

    Alright, my rundown to your questions:
    1) I would use the notebook to help plan my upcoming trip. Right now, I’ve got lots of lists, notes, and plans in my head, and I want to capture some ideas for “schedules O’ fun”. Truth be told, I have to get this stuff on paper, so even if I don’t win, I still gotta get planning!
    2) I LOVE LOVE LOVE all of your posts that show your steps to making your own supplies. The filofax inserts, notebooks, etc. Those rock.
    3) I’m a big fan of blue/blacks and blue/greens. Right now, my current favorite is DeAtramentis Sherlock Holmes. That can change on a whim though. I’m addicted to ink. There. I’ve said it.
    4) Blog post suggestions: I’d love to know where your inspiration comes from. I always have such a hard time coming up with something to journal about. It seems so easy for you (and entertaining!).
    5) I don’t have a blog, sadly. See above comment regarding “nothing to write about”!

  5. Congratulations on reaching 100 posts; I know how much work that involves!

    Your questions:
    1. In that bright orange colour I would use the Leuchtturm notebook as a road pylon if my car breaks down! Actually I would review it on my blog and draft it into the rotation of my daily journals. I love their paper so much I would probably abandon my present journal (adios Pierre B.) and jump right in.
    2. I enjoyed Talkin’ about my notebooks – what I have in use. In fact I will probably write a blog post about it on my blog (shameless plug). But my all-time fave post of yours is Review: BroLeatherworks Midori-style Leather Notebook Cover. I couldn’t get your review out of my mind. I was enchanted with Stefano’s little touches. So enchanted that I ordered my own just last week. (Excited!)
    3. My favorite ink right now just happens to be Lie de The by J. Herbon (honest it is). I recently bought a J. Herbin rollerball pen and love it. But I can always use another as I intend to collect every one of those darling tins and that’s alot of ink for one little pen to handle.
    4. I would like an update on your BroLeatherworks notebook (big surprise); how you are using it, positive or negative feelings about it. I think that would be very interesting.
    5. And finally my blog is http://inlovewithjournals.wordpress.com/. Come on over and say hi.

  6. Jude

    It really takes a lot of time and effort to maintain a blog on stationery. But a big congratulations on reaching your 100th post !
    1. I am probably going to convert the Leuchtturm1917 Neon notebooks into a diary or to do list. There a few methods where a blank notebook could be converted into a diary. One of the more popular ones is Bullet Journal by Ryder Carroll ! Go check the concept out at http://bulletjournal.com/ . Secondly, my current notebooks such as moleskin and fieldnotes do not take fountain pen inks very well. Hope this awesome notebook will make a difference.
    2. My favorite post of yours is probably the entry titled “I made my own Filofax inserts for next year…” It is really detailed and guides me through making my own diary in the future maybe using the Leuchtturm1917 Neon notebooks if i win this entry πŸ˜› .
    3. My own personal favourite ink at the moment would be the Iroshizuku Kon Peki from Pilot ! Great flow, quick drying time and best of all it has the bright shade of blue which is vibrant but formal enough to be used on documents.
    4. What i would like for your blog is probably more photos ! Picture says a thousand words and probably better lighting when taking the photos. No flash will beat natural light.

    Your blog has been awesome thus far, keep up the good work !

  7. Dwight Jurling

    Hmmm. It seems I’ve come to the right place. For the notebook, I’d no doubt use it to practice my hand. It’s gotten rusty, but I’m bound and determined to crank it up a notch. (I think I’ll also be putting it to practical use in my next work adventure.) My favorite post? It’s got to be this one! When I read your handwriting, I feel better about my prospects and, heck, a contest with 7 entries is better than one with 500. Inkwise, my current fav is Diamine Kensington Blue. For a topic, how about more on ur experience with handwriting. How your hand has changed (changes?) with time, task, mood, purpose.

  8. Congratulations on 100th post!

    And my answers:
    1. I would use it to log and organize all my freelance work stuff. I need to write down everything in order to remember cause I have a terrible memory and this can be disastrous while working on several different projects.
    2. I liked the one about your filofax and your organizing bits for it. It was really helpful to get ideas.
    3. My favorite ink nowadays is a tie between J.Herbin Vert Olive and Diamine Syrah (I know, they could not be more different).
    4. I would like to see posts and photos about the fountain pens and inks you are using that week.
    5. I have a rookie nail polish blog (I know, totally irrelevant :)) but in case you would like to visit : http://elfenbeninojeleri.blogspot.com

  9. Thank you for great review. Here is my answers to your questions

    1- I am a “writing” type, which means I have to take notes whenever I read something. So I would use it to take notes of the books, generally about occult and traditions.

    2- I think this one is my favorite https://fourwordsfourworlds.wordpress.com/2012/07/04/n-is-for-notebooks/
    (I guess it is better when you have more photos in the posts)

    3- I am an ink freak, so I have tons of favorite inks. But the first ones to pop in my mind are; Stipula Musk Green and Iroshizuku Yama Budo

    4- I would like to see more reviews on fountain pens and paper goes along with fountain pen inks

    5- My blog is: writetomeoften.com please feel free to click

  10. Eleni

    -What would you use the notebook for if you won? Definitely a present to my husband;he loves notebooks and pens!
    ~ let me know your favourite post of mine! of course this one;handwriting+giveaway?who could ask for more?
    ~ tell me your favourite ink: haven’t really decided yet on the brand, as long as it is royal/navy/dark blue!

    ~ anything you’d like to see me cover one week?using pens at school/how to maintain a tidy notebook as a student while using ink!
    ~ a link to your blog if you have one : under construction
    http://helladeria.blogspot.com.es/

  11. cybaea

    Congratulations on 100 posts.
    I would use the notebook for my diary: I am almost out of the previous book.
    My favourite post is your recent one on research, and my suggestion is for the longer post on that topic which you hinted at.
    Favourite ink: Possibly Vert Empire – one of the few green inks that is suitable everywhere, even the office, and which does not make you look like part of the green ink brigade. Or Cacao du BrΓ©sil, but only in a wet broad pen. Least favourite ink? Parker Quink Blue-Black which dries to a yucky teal colour.

    • kenounirenashin

      My co-author Jon will be very pleased to hear that you liked his post on research.
      I only write on Wednesdays.

      • cybaea

        > I only write on Wednesdays.
        Sorry: I am new here and easily confused πŸ™‚ In that case the BroLeatherWorks entry which was what originally allowed Google to turn up this site.

      • kenounirenashin

        That’s alright! I’m glad people like my co-author’s stuff too πŸ˜€

  12. I would probably use the notebook as a journal if I won it. My favorite post of yours so far is https://fourwordsfourworlds.wordpress.com/2013/05/08/in-which-i-talk-about-writing-and-the-internet/, and I don’t really have a favorite ink yet. The only bottle of ink I own is Diamine Meadow, which is very pretty, but perhaps not pretty enough to be called a favorite.
    I do have a neglected little blog, which was created with the intention of reviewing pens, paper, and the like, but I’ve run out of things to review. I will add this giveaway, though, and it will feel a bit less neglected. http://addictedtopensandpaper.blogspot.com

  13. MJ

    i would probably use the notebook for notes in a meeting or in class — depends on what i need at the time. The ink that i love the most is the caran d’ache caribbean sea mostly because its such a lovely shade of aqua/teal. Running a close second is probably the diamine steel blue because it comes out a lovely shade of blue.

    im not going to lie.. i love this post the most — mostly because its such a cool giveaway.. https://fourwordsfourworlds.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/and-now-time-for-something-a-little-different-100th-post/

  14. What a nice collection.
    a.) I would use the notebook to replace my battered everyday notebook.
    b.) I enjoyed your “20th Century Brilliance” post.. I enjoy Agatha Christie.
    c.) I don’t use a fountain pen but if I did would lean toward a manhattan blue ink color ..I think Pelikan blue is the like that shade or perhaps Noodlers midnight blue.

  15. Anna

    Congrats on 100 posts! πŸ™‚ Thanks for letting us celebrate with you! This is an amazing giveaway!

    1) I would probably use it to journal in (I make a point of writing every day), but I might give it a different purpose depending on my mood. Every time something new interests me, I start a new notebook about it!

    2) I especially like this post: https://fourwordsfourworlds.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/talkin-about-my-notebooks-what-i-have-in-use/ Because it makes me feel better about how many notebooks I myself have going right now! I think I’m carrying around 5 of them, and then I have 3 more on my nightstand, and another at least 3 that I keep on my bookshelf for other specific purposes I don’t need daily. Yikes!

    3) Right now, my favorite ink is Private Reserve Ebony Purple. It’s so bold and dark, I love it! And it flows so beautifully out of my pen.

    4) I love that you make your own notebooks. I took a bookbinding class in college (it was amazing) and learned coptic binding. I’d love to see you try that, or another kind of binding, because it’s super fun. πŸ™‚

    5) And unfortunately I don’t have a blog, but keep up the good work on yours! πŸ™‚

  16. Congrats on the 100th post!
    I would use this gorgeous notebook (after I have lovingly stared at and fondled it for an undetermined amount of time): as a photography journal. The bright neon colour would definitely make sure I don’t accidentally leave it in the field.
    I love your post on making your own filofax inserts. More posts like this please.
    Favorite fountain pen ink: Diamine Kelly Green.

  17. Chris

    Congrats on the 100th post!

    -It’s hard to say what I’d use the notebook for. I like carrying one around in my pocket because it makes me feel scholarly, but sadly the one I have now has random sketching/doodling, names of fountain pen inks I’ve been eyeing and a grocery list I keep forgetting out about when I stop off at the market.

    -I like random DIY projects so naturally I really liked your post about making your own notebooks. I hadn’t realized how simple the idea of it was, but it seems like it’d be a fun challenging thing to do on a lazy saturday.

    -Right now I’m enjoying brown inks, so I’ve got Diamine Chocolate Brown loaded into my daily writing utensil.

    Good luck, everyone!

  18. ~ What would you use the notebook for if you won?
    One thought would be a sample book, where I’d display writing samples using the various fountain pens and commonplace office pens and pencils I own.
    ~ let me know your favourite post of mine! (To see all my posts, click here.)
    I really enjoyed “I made my own Filofax inserts for next year…” I wish I had the patience to try a similar project.
    ~ tell me your favourite ink
    I’ve only used mundane fountain pen inks, but I’m particularly fond of orange hues now and would love to try Herbin’s Orange Indien!

  19. Charles

    Hello Danni
    I would use the notebook for a ink journal.
    I think I would like to try J. Herbin Eclat de Saphir.
    I liked your post about how you use your notebooks.
    Congrats on the 100th post,
    Charles

  20. stacy mckee

    Hello and Thanks for the chance to win.
    I would use the notebook for lists-books, little league, inks, etc. Also, for doodling.
    My fav post was about your favorite books through the ages. I love books and I am always looking for book suggestions. The Book Thief was Awesome!!
    I have my Pilot Vanishing Point inked up with Diamine Marine and I love this color!! However, I hate this pen (I know I am probably the only person in the world that hates this pen.)

  21. I would love to use the notebook for my project, USE FIRST. Handwritten and hand-drawn.
    One cartridge of all 30 colours ink sounds GREAT!
    Congrats on your 100th post.

  22. Sam

    I would use the notebook for a Bullet Journal or just a plain old journal.
    My favorite post: https://fourwordsfourworlds.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/talkin-about-my-notebooks-what-i-have-in-use/
    My favorite ink is Pilot Iroshizuku Kon-Peki.

  23. Melanie Leitgeb

    When I win I take the little notebook as a ” to-go-notebook” and the Leuchtturm for my poems that I write with the J.Herbin rollerball pen.
    One poem for one colour. Please I want to win.
    That were so cool to test this very cool things.
    Your website is cool.
    Thanks,melanie

  24. My favourite post of yours is titled “In which I talk about making notebooks”. I really like that post as I actually have one of your lovely notebooks.

    I would use the notebook for my type sketching/brainstorming. This would help me with my goal to becoming a freelance type designer.

    My favourite ink is Cult Pens Deep Dark Blue.

  25. Congratulations on your 100th post! What a wonderful giveaway!
    I would use the handmade notebook to keep color blocks of all my inks, paints, colored pencils and markers. I would use the Leuchtturm1917 notebook as a journal.
    I also am a fan of your “notebook” post. I’ve never had a Filofax, but I’d love one, someday.
    My favorite ink ever was the Skrip Peacock Blue, from when I was a teenager.
    I do use fountain pens, currently I have a Waterman Phileas and a Shaeffer J inked with Levenger inks.
    My poor, semi-abandoned blog is http://www.simplytrece.wordpress.com, and I’d like you to cover all the inks you have. That’s what makes this such an even greater giveaway – all the ink!!!

  26. Randall Payne

    I would use the notebook for a daily capture tool…It would be in my bag, and I would jot down the events/thoughts/ideas of my daily existence.

    My favorite post of yours was from back in February, entitled “In which I update on life, reading and muse about my notebook use.”. I am trying to become more efficient in my life, and I am trying to come up with a notebook system that helps me accomplish that goal.

    Finally, I’m a sucker for blue-black inks, and Pilot’s Iroshizuku Shin-Kai is my current favorite.

  27. Chris

    Hi Danni,
    Thanks for the great contest! It’s a lovely set of prizes, and you are most generous. If I won, I would use your awesome rainbow notebook for quotes, poems, etc. I would use the Leichturm for a journal/sketch/scrap/lists/everything book. My favourite ink right now is between Herbin Cacao du Bresil, and Iroshizuku yama-budo and fuyu-syogun (I just had a birthday last month πŸ™‚
    I am a new reader, but I love your notebooks post from August, and also the “I made my own Filofax inserts” one. Thanks for inspiring me.
    Chris

  28. Ooh. I’d love to win this giveaway, Danni. My chances are close to zero but heck, why not, right?
    1. I’d use the notebook as my journal or story-writing notebook, depending on how I feel about its size and thickness and its “appropriate” function.
    2. I’m liking your post on your current notebooks. I’m salivating over the turquoise flowery one!
    3. As you know, I do not own a fountain pen yet. However, I like the look of Pelikan Edelstein Topaz Blue (at least according to how the my screen thinks it looks).
    4. I’d love for you to write about your love for fountain pens, if you haven’t already. Why do you love them over regular pens? Favourite refilling system? Anyhing that noobs should know? Light or substantial?
    5. My blog is windismusings.wordpress.com. Enjoy and let me know what you think of it!

  29. Antonio R

    Congrats on the 100th post but I see you are continuing on which is only right.

    Questions
    1) as far as the notebook I would use it for testing inks and fountain pen combinations.
    2) I really enjoyed the blog called “I made my own Filofax inserts for next year…” very handy of you.
    3) I am currently enjoying Noodler’s Navy.
    4) keep up the notebook work

    Thanks again

  30. Matt

    This is a pretty cool contest and post. Gotta think if I won I would use a the notebook as one of those always there for you notebooks, you know the kind that are constant companions throughout the day ready for any inspired drawing, cool new bands your friends tell you about, or notes for the day. For a favourite post, it would have to be “I Know Of No Originalty, Other Than That Of Everything I Hold Dear–Merged Together As One”; because I agree and see this as true, but just because its been done doesn’t mean you can’t do it in a different way! My current favourite ink is Whale man’s sepia by Noodlers, but I am just enamored with brown/sepia inks.

  31. Ashli K

    1. I would use my notebook for work. I LOVE bound books with elastic bound closures like these for archiving work notes, and I love the bright color. It would make it effortless to spot in my bag,
    2.This one. Oh, and the one on notebooks in use.
    3. Noodler’s Dragon Napalm
    4. Field Notes. What do you think?

  32. I would use the Leuchtturm1917 for my daily journal, because I figure that I would like to have a record of my life that I could read over when I’m old and gray. I really enjoy your fountain pen reviews, so I can add more onto my “to buy list” (I might get a pilot pluminix in italic because i really want to try calligraphy even though my handwriting needs work) https://fourwordsfourworlds.wordpress.com/2012/02/01/420/
    My favourite ink is Noodler’s Bulletproof Black, it’s everything proof and a nice black, what more would you want πŸ™‚
    Thank you for the giveaway πŸ™‚

  33. Theo Lu

    1. I’d use the notebook for Leuchtturm for a ink journal and your pocket notebook as my daily carry notebook
    2. I like your favorite writing equipment post. Reminded me of many of my thoughts.
    3. Right now, my favorite ink is Diamine Midnight.

  34. – I think I would turn the notebook into a travel journal for a few upcoming long weekend and vacation I have planned.
    – My favorite post of yours I think was the custom filo inserts, so creative, I’m impressed
    – I’m a Diamine / Noodlers fan with Diamine Syrah probably being at the top of my list currently
    – Share some blog love over at http://www.mypenneedsink.com Thanks!

  35. swanjun0

    I would use the notebook to take notes of books and manga I’m reading. I have a book-review blog (www.soliloquyinblue.com) and know well the love of knowing even just *one* person read what I wrote. πŸ™‚

    My favorite post of yours was the one about uthe notebooks you have in use, ‘cos I also have several going, all with different things in them. I just ordered a new one the other day to write stories in for my new niece.

    It is incredibly difficult to choose a favorite ink, because I love so many of them. I think right now I’ll go with Noodler’s 54th Massachusetts.

  36. Marji

    I think I would use the notebook to keep notes on my reading — and I hope it would spur me on to complete books on my reading list.

    I liked your post on notebooks, and how you use them. I tend to have too many blank ones.

    I like purple inks, and have used Waterman Violette, and Herbin Violette Pensee.

  37. Andrew

    1. I would use the notebook either for miscellaneous journaling, or for work notes. depends.
    2. I’ve just discovered this blog via Gourmet Pens, so right now this is my favorite post. I’ve bookmarked the blog and look forward to delving deeper into the archives and reading new posts.
    3. Favorite ink = Diamine Damson. Great muted purple color, good flow in all pens tried so far, and a good value.

  38. Colleen

    Hi Danni!

    Congratulations on your 100th post! youre doing great! πŸ™‚
    Im Colleen, im a middle school student and im pretty new to your blog. I dont usually leave comments on other peoples blogs but i totally love your blog! your posts are so inspiring and awesome! and now for my answers:

    1) If i win, it would be my first time to have a Leuchtterm notebook and i will use it for journaling or maybe a pen journal. The pocket notebook, i will carry it every time and use it for checklists, to-do lists or reminders. (sooo hyper already! XD)
    2.) My favorite post of yours is the “Filofax inserts” and other DIY stuffs bcuz it inspires me so much and made me make my own too.
    3) I still dont have any fountain pens, but ive been wanting one for so long but i still have to wait till Christmas and let my dad buy me one. I cant wait! XD But, as what i have seen in the internet i saw a “J. Herbin Rouge Bourgogne” ink and the ink looks so fab! XD

    I dont really suggest anything on your blog because your blog already ROCKS! Im sorry i dont have a blog YET, but im planning to make and start one as long as im not so busy in school.

    Sorry if my answers are too long but thats just how i express my enthusiasm about pens and your blog. Thats all, thank you sooo much! :))

Leave a Reply

