Review: Tombow Object Fountain Pen, Petrol Blue, Medium nib @thepencompany

Hi guys!

A reminder that I’ve got a giveaway going on. I did open it up Internationally on… Monday? And I extended the entry date. I will use random.org to pick a winner (and of course announce it) next week. I’m really enjoying reading your entry comments 🙂

Right. So I have a reivew for you today!

First off – I must say that I was given this pen to review, and I do get to give the pen a good home. This doesn’t affect my opinions on it at all – I promise you that.

P1000551

A couple of Sundays ago, the lovely Anna from The Pen Company contacted me and asked if I would be willing to review a pen for her/the company. Sure I would. We discussed it a bit and soon a Tombow Object was in my grubby little hands. It arrived like, lightning fast, which is amazing ’cause I’m impatient and I really hate waiting for things. Especially stationery. Anyway, I opened it up, oooh’d over it for a bit, took some photos and inked it up to write my first impressions, which I’ve scanned in for you. (As always, click the image to make it larger.)

img011

I’ve never used or encountered a Tombow fountain pen before. I’ve read a couple of (generally rather favourable) reviews, and I very nearly bought one once (I can’t remember what I ended up buying instead.) I’ve been putting this pen through some relatively heavy use since I wrote that page of first impressions, and it holds up like a right little trooper. I can put it down, uncapped for five minutes while I get distracted by things and it’ll start up almost immediately afterwards. By “almost immediately” I mean, that I’ll have to re-write maybe half a single letter. Like I said in my first impressions, that might have more to do with the ink than the pen. But either way, it’s not a big deal for me because a lot of my pens take a stroke or two to get going. The Tombow Object takes very, very little effort.

Just looking at it though, it still really reminds me of the Pilot Metropolitan though, which is another pen that I’m pretty much in love with so I guess that’s not a bad thing.

P1000554

The Tombow is maybe a little longer and a little bit lighter than the Pilot Metropolitan, but they’re still really rather similar. But you know what? It doesn’t bother me at all. It took me much less time to find that elusive nib sweet spot on the Object, and it’s beautiful. I mean, it wrote smoothly before but now I’ve found that spot, it’s like every sheet of paper I write on is Rhodia paper. It’s great.

I think it feels a bit odd when posted because you’ve got that obvious edge from the cap, and that’s not very comfortable against your skin, but I don’t really post my pens anyway so it’s not an issue for me. Plus, I think posting the cap makes it a fraction too heavy than I find comfortable. Then pen is so light anyway that posting it feels a bit weird.

Your mileage may vary, of course, but I think this pen is a bit thinner than I’m used to (baring in mind that I’m a Lamy lover and they’re pretty chunky), so it’s almost like I’m relearning how to hold it, which gives me an ache in the hand at first. It’s getting easier though. However, this is more down to me than the pen, so I suppose it doesn’t really count.

What can I say? It looks pretty, the colour is gorgeous, the nib writes wet and a nice medium and I’m pretty much in love with the thing even if it does make me need to relearn how to hold it. I think it’s worth that. In fact, the red one is on my Christmas list now. That’s how much I love the thing.

That’s… That’s about it really. Lovely little pen; very impressed with it!

Thank you again to Anna for letting me review it 🙂

Until next time folks!

Danni

X

Blog post word count: 693 types + 729 written = 1,422 words.

1 Comment

Filed under Danni

One response to “Review: Tombow Object Fountain Pen, Petrol Blue, Medium nib @thepencompany

  1. Pingback: Two of a Kind: Pilot Metropolitan and Tombow Object Fountain Pens | Pete Denison

Leave a Reply

