Bobbing along…

Bit of a change in proceedings this week as I simply haven’t got enough time to do as much work on my blog posts as I usually do!

I start my MA officially this week, which while slightly exciting is verging more on the terrifying. It may have something to do with the two complete works of Byron and Blake or the copy of Paradise Lost that I now own – though I’m not sure whether I’m more worried about Paradise Lost or Shakespeare’s Coriolanus!

The OU are pretty generous with deadlines – I have a month to write my first essay and two to write the next compared to with my BA when we were sometimes writing two essays a week. Obviously the MA standard is a lot higher and apparently I’m not allowed to rely on what theorists thought, rather forming my own argument against things but we shall see how it goes.

Onto writing now. For most of the summer I was pretty uninspired. I didn’t want to work on my book, I didn’t want to write anything new – and when I tried it was awful. I’m not sure why this was – perhaps I didn’t think there was enough time to be writing (a poor, untrue excuse, frankly) or perhaps I just had no motivation. Probably that one.

Funnily enough, now I’m due to start my MA I’ve had a load of ideas. I was looking through my external hard drive as I upgraded my computer and found something that I thought deserved to be worked on – I found a print out of it hanging around my house, edited it and thought it would make a good novel, but I just don’t have time. Last night I was hit by a spark of inspiration around 2am, something which really annoyed me. I was so tired but I knew that if I let it go and just went to sleep, I’d forget the idea (as has happened so many times before, convinced it’s that good an idea and I’ll remember it and I haven’t) so I wrote what is probably the most ¬†incomprehensible note to myself on my phone trying to fit in everything I’d thought of. I haven’t read it back to myself yet in fear that the idea is truly bad, but maybe it’ll come to something.

That’s all for this week,

Lil

Next week: hopefully back to our normal schedule, and The Secret of the Unicorn

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

