So, here I am again, late as usual, but still so very willing!

How is everyone? I’m writing this on a Thursday afternoon so the things I’m talking about will have actually happened by the time this goes up. Confused, yeah, so am I!

My first uni tutorial is on Saturday (19th) in London, which a little bit of pain but I’m staying on in the city afterwards to have fun so not all bad.

I’ve finally read one of the books for my course, which is the original version of Antigone by Sophocles. It wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be and I actually understood all of it, which was good!

In other news, I’m going to update my reading list on here once I’ve written this, so go and check that. I’ve had a really bad reading year so far but perhaps having to read hardcore academic texts will leave me gagging to read something softer.

I’ve also been watching a documentary called Harrow: A Very British School, which is really interesting. It shows a completely different side of education – some of the things they get up to are things you’d never come across in normal state education – my favourite being the 20 minute speech in Latin that the head boy has to give once a year. Terrifying. It also focuses on one out of the twelve houses so you see the same boys in each episode – the series spans one school year. It also may help those various contemporary boarding school stories jumping around my hard drive.

I will try to keep my blog silence fairly limited, but we shall see how embarking on the first essay goes.

That’s all for now,

Lil

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

