This year’s intentions.

Hello folks!

Last week, I said that this week I’d maybe do a brief catch up post and/or take a look at my resolutions/goals/intentions for this year. I’m probably going to roll with “intentions” although on my sheet of paper that I keep in my Filofax* is titled “things to work on” so take from that what you will. I guess I’m not a fan of the term “resolutions” because… Resolutions mean failure. Goals/Aims mean success. NaNoWriMo? Your goal is 50,000. YoCW? Your goal is whatever you want it to be as long as you spend a year doing it. And I’ve done both of those (still working on the YoCW ’cause it’s not March yet.) Goals are a long running thing. Resolutions seem more… Time sensitive. Goals can take years, even decades if your goal is big enough. Resolutions are… Not so? Something like that. So yeah. I hope that makes sense.

(*Yes, I’m still using that. Yes, I’m also aware that I’ve never done a set up post. I’m working on that, too.)

Right. So my bit of paper reads as follows:

Things to work on 2014
~ Keep filling up those notebooks.
~ Keep going through those pens.
~ Keep going through those ink samples/ ink cartridges.
~ Try and journal more.
~ Write whatever the hell you feel like – don’t worry about it.
~ Recognise the good things.
~ At least try to treat Matt better.**
~ Don’t be afraid to try new things.
~ Try and write more reviews for FWFW (that’s here!)
~ Don’t beat yourself up (too much) if you don’t succeed. All you can do is try. So just try.

**He works like a dog to look after me and he’s always got my best interests at heart and yet I’m really bad at recognising that. I seem to fight him all the way sometimes. I’m trying to work on this but I don’t feel like I’m doing a good job. I don’t know. You’d have to talk to him.

That last one is the most important I feel. For anyone. For all of us. It’s like… I might be paraphrasing it, or I might be making it up on the spot, but I swear that I read this somewhere: You cannot try and fail, you can fail to try. I do think that’s a paraphrase of a more famous quote, but you get where I’m going with this. As long as you try and try your best. That’s all anyone can ask for.

What about you guys? What goals do you have for this year? Tell me in the comments.

Until next week, when I’ll probably do that catch up post.

Danni

x

Blog post word count: 450 words.

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni

Leave a Reply

