Floating on the Wide Sargasso Sea

As you may be able to tell from the title, I am currently suffering under the weight of writing an essay about two of my least favourite books of all time – Jane Eyre and Wide Sargasso Sea.

I must say though that Wide Sargasso Sea was actually about a hundred times better than the first experience of it, but I still didn’t enjoy reading it.

Unfortunately for me, Jane Eyre doesn’t improve on re-reads. I like classics, but I can’t connect with Jane Eyre at all. I find nothing interesting in the character herself. There were only two parts of the book I actually enjoyed – one was Rochester’s monologue about watching a storm in the West Indies, mainly because of the prose, I thought it was really well written, and the other was something that St. John said quite late in the book, which has actually slipped my mind.

Needless to say, this is going to be a painful essay to write.

In other news, I have started re-reading Strange Meeting by Susan Hill, which I remember absolutely loving the first time around, so I hope it stands up the second time. I’m already really enjoying it so it’s looking good.

Novel news: still slow, but new ideas for new novels floating around my head. Having the time to commit them to paper is a different thing, unfortunately.

That’s all for now,

Lil

Leave a comment

Filed under Lil

Leave a Reply

