Review: Lamy Studio Fountain Pen, Imperial Blue, Extra Fine nib – @thepencompany

Hey guys!

Yes, I have a review for you today. Amazing.

I find this a very attractive combination

I find this a very attractive combination

What’s in the box?
~ The pen, obviously.
~ A Lamy T10 blue cartridge.
~ A Lamy Z26 ink converter (that’s the black one).

Information:
Finish: Satin dark blue lacquer with chrome trim.
Diameter: 12mm
Length capped: 140mm
Length posted: 155mm
Nib: Steel.

I’ve been test-driving this pen for almost a solid week, which is something I like to do with my pen reviews now instead of just some first impressions (I mean, I do those anyway too).

This is a smaller amount (and bullet-pointed) than usual because I really wanted to get on with using the pen.

This is a smaller amount (and bullet-pointed) than usual because I really wanted to get on with using the pen.

I believe that it arrived last… I think it was Thursday, after being posted on Tuesday. I actually received an email from James from The Pen Company to double check that he needed to send out the pen with an Extra Fine nib – which I thought was attentive and nice. I’ve exchanged emails with a few people at The Pen Company and the exchanges have always been really nice, friendly and relaxed. I really like that – it’s really off-putting when you’re in contact with a company and their messages are all… You feel like you’re bothering them. There’s none of that here.

Just to give you guys an impression of what my handwriting is like with all the Lamy nibs.

Just to give you guys an impression of what my handwriting is like with all the Lamy nibs.

P1000711The packaging was a touch disappointing, to be honest with you guys. I expected something ever so slightly fancier than a cardboard box almost exactly like the one I got my Neon Orange Lamy Nexx in. Then again, I tend to get rid of most of my pen packaging anyway, so I suppose it’s not the biggest issue in the world – just maybe something to keep in mind if you were getting this pen as a gift for someone else.

P1000713

I’m pretty much in love with the colour of the thing and the almost seamlessness look of it. The clip is the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen but I don’t find it particularly… Giving. I could probably get it into pen loops or pen cases with a little effort but it’s quite… Strong? Stiff? I’ve be overly paranoid that I’d break it, but that’s just me – you might feel differently about it. But on the plus side, aside from the elastic and plastic baggie, I think the packaging is recyclable? Yay for that!

LamyStudio

Get your own here or browse The Pen Company’s entire Lamy range 🙂

Disclaimer: This pen was sent to me to review by The Pen Company and I do get to keep it. However, all opinions are completely my own and are all honest.

Blog post word count: 629 (handwritten but the nib samples are not included) + 474 (typed) = 1,103 words

2 Comments

Filed under Danni

2 responses to “Review: Lamy Studio Fountain Pen, Imperial Blue, Extra Fine nib – @thepencompany

  1. Just bought this yesterday. It’s a beautiful pen 🙂

Leave a Reply

