Things I have learnt from #OneBookJuly2014

For my other post on the subject, see here.

I know, I know – it’s not quite over yet. I’m still sticking to the rules until the 1st, I’m just wrapping up my thoughts a little earlier.

So! Here we go:

~ I can’t stick to one A6 page a day. Sometimes I write more, sometimes I write less. So, as much as I love the Tomoe River Paper, the A6 page-a-day Hobonichi will not work for me, with its pre-printed/dated pages and all that.

~ Although, upon saying that, I really like the smaller size.

~ I don’t like only having one pen. I think I could deal with only using one colour, or one type of pen (for example, Gelly Rolls), but there have been a few days where I’ve been really frustrated with my poor Kakuno. Or, maybe I just need to use a pen that’s not practically brand new, a pen that has had all its teething problems smoothed out.

~ I love grid paper, I really do, so why I’m not being as… Artistic in my A6 book as I was on the plain pages of the inserts I was using in my Midori… I don’t know. It might have something to do with the slight frustrations I have with the pen that I’m using (which is SO temperamental.)

~ I think maybe the size prevented me sticking in anything more than a strip of washi tape; I feel like maybe I didn’t want to take away my… Writing real estate? I’m not sure. Or maybe I just didn’t have anything to stick in!

~ Speaking of washi tape; I quite like using pre-cut strips to break up my days of writing. I think I’ll continue doing that.

~ I do feel like I write less when I use a smaller size? I’m not sure if that’s got anything to do with the size, the temperamental pen or the time I do my journalling. (Although, I don’t think the time has anything to do with it because I write at about roughly to same time every day and I have done for… A good three or four months.) I will have to work on that. Though my money is on the pen, because I think I’ve been writing less when it’s been so damn annoying to use.

~ I actually got through more pages than I initially thought I would, so that’s not a bad thing.

And, I think that’s it!

Two questions remain; what am I going to do with the book I was using? And; would I do it again?

Well, I’m going to continue using the book I picked up for it (maybe not the pen though), because I hate to leave a book unfinished – it really rubs me up the wrong way. Besides, I might write more than a couple of pages at a time if I change my pen. That’ll be the next thing to experiment with.

Would I do it again? Sure I would. Hell, I might even go smaller next time. Maybe, Passport Midori sized? Or maybe go a tiny bit bigger and use a Personal sized Filofax. I do know one thing; I would have to pick my pen a little better next time.

What about you guys? Would you do anything like this? Did you take part? If so, how did you get on?

Leave a comment

Filed under Danni, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

